Yarncraft #19

Just a warning, this post is picture-heavy.  I wanted to share my new book with y’all.  I have a couple 1930’s knitting book reprints and several original 1950’s knitting books, but this is my first 1940’s book.  I may go back and forth (in terms of decade) on other aspects of fashion but 1940s knitwear has always been my favorite.  What I find interesting about this book is that, unlike the stereotype of all vintage knits using fine yarns, most of the patterns in this book call for DK and worsted yarns.  I haven’t decided what to knit up first but I’m learning toward the buttoned waistcoat.  Last year’s winter was too warm to wear handknits but a waistcoat would be perfect.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarncraft #19

  1. judy says:

    Such pretty sweaters.. Would love to learn to knit..but just never did.. How is your new job going? Hope your enjoying it.

  2. Lisa says:

    Those are classics that will never go out style! Now only if I took knitting as seriously as I take my crochet . . .

Leave a comment