Mail Order Sheath dress

This dress shouldn’t have worked.  The pattern has many elements that don’t normally work for my shape.  The raglan sleeves, high neckline, slim skirt all have failed me in the past.  For some reason, this one worked out very nicely.  Because I need stretchy but professional garments to wear to work, I decided to use an ITY jersey that has been in my stash for a few years.  The only change I made was to use a narrow band to finish the neckline, instead of a facing.  Oh, and of course, I raised the skirt 3 inches and it’s still not to the knee.  I absolutely love this dress.  I need to make a few more NOW!

As for the pattern, I don’t have much information.  My first guess is late 60s, but this also reminds me of something my mother would wear in the 70s.  It’s hard to tell without things like hairstyle or shoes to give clues.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mail Order Sheath dress

  1. Susan says:

    LOVE it! You chose an excellent print.

  2. Awesome dress! I don’t quite get why this color looks so good on you with your red hair and awful on me with my (admittedly more subdued) red hair. At any rate, it’s a winner!

  3. Nessa says:

    You look amazing in that dress! Very slimming on you and the print size is perfect! I love it when pattern meets fabric meets figure!

  4. prttynpnk says:

    Oh, yeah! Color, style- this is great on you- so nicely done!

  5. Sandra says:

    Looks fabulous Andrea!

  6. It’s so lovely! Do you have any tips or suggestions for translating woven patterns for knits? Like.. is an ITY knit stable enough to not make changes?

  7. Janel says:

    Love that style! It looks great on you. 🙂

  8. gmariesews says:

    Fabulous dress! I need to know if there is a waist seam or if the princess darts just extend to the hem. Lovely! g

Leave a Reply

