Colette Macaroon

Today’s FO is Macaroon by colettepatterns.com.  This is my first attempt at a Colette Patterns garment and I was very happy with it.  Based on reviews from patternreview.com, I decided to jump right in and not do a muslin.  The largest size was one size too small, so I just added a 1/2in to the side seams.  Other than that, NO alterations were needed.  That has never happened to me with a modern pattern.  I did make a couple design changes by omitting the pockets and adding 1in in length to the hem.  It took me all of 4 hours to sew.  I typically prefer an A line skirt, so my next one will probably have a different, but there will be more in my future.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Colette Macaroon

  1. Snookie says:

    Cute! Great colors. I think that skirt shape is very flattering on you, you should think about using it more!

  2. Magpie Mimi says:

    Great dress! You look fantastic, I agree with Snookie maybe you should think about this skirt shape again.

  3. Karen in VA says:

    Love it – looks great on you…

  4. Rita says:

    Wow that is fabulous and done so quickly! At least for me that is really quick sewing.

    I have not yet tried a Colette pattern but now I think I need to give one a whirl.

  5. looks great – love the skirt shape and the colors. And the lines of the bodice are MADE for you!

  6. angie.a says:

    Andrea, t his is ADORABLE! Wow! I just dragged all of my Colettes out this morning to pick a new project. I haven’t made a dress yet, just the Sencha and the Beignet skirt, but now I’m dying to make THIS dress. Thanks for the great inspiration!

  7. Sarah says:

    Don’t you look gorgeous!! I love the red paired with the Lucky Tattoo fabric! Amazing dress!

  8. molly says:

    Looks great, very festive haha! That’s pretty awesome that you didn’t have to do any alterations to make it fit so wonderfully. I agree, it would look even better with a more A line skirt. Next time I make this dress again I’m going to make that change as well.

  9. Ada says:

    Oh my goodness you didn’t have to make any pattern alterations. How wonderful is that. Love the color and I agree with the other comments. The skirt is a good look for you.

  10. Piia says:

    Oh! Soooo cute! I absolutely love the color combination and it suits you so well. 🙂

  11. andreahg says:

    Thanks, everyone!

  12. lap says:

    I just cut out my macaron pattern over the weekend! If it looks one tenth as good on me I’m in such luck, because this looks awesome on you! I think the cut and length of the skirt makes the absolute most of your gams! Cuteness abides!

  13. Judy Roberson says:

    I love the dress.Looks so good on you.. I won this pattern at sew weekly and havent sewed it yet..You just encouraged me to do it.I think,it will be my next project.Have a question..When reading the instructions, I noticed it said to lay the bodice on top of the skirt and sew? am I understanding this correctly..You dont lay it right sides together and sew it together[the normal way???]. thanks for your help..

  14. Cynthia says:

    Absolutely LOVE the dress! It looks great on you…..you should definitely wear these colors more often. If I send you my measurements, can you make me one just like it? (Ha, Ha!)

  15. Helen says:

    This pattern did nothing for me, until I saw it on you. This is so becoming on you!!! I think you should reconsider your preference for a-line skirts, because this cut suits you beautifully. I am now going to try this pattern. Btw, I love your new blonde forelock!

Leave a comment