Butterick 6236

Someone recently asked me why I’ve had a renewed interest in 1930’s clothes after all the complaining about it not working for my figure type.  This blouse typifies why I have fallen in love with early 1930’s clothing.  This is view C collar with view D sleeves.  It’s just a basic, classic button front shirt but the design details give it a unique flare.  The shawl collar is one I’ve never seen before and the sleeve is the same tucked hem that is common on many 1930’s short sleeves, but with a flat sleeve cap.  This is the best fitting button front blouse I’ve made and I can see making several more.  The only things I don’t like about the blouse are the drawbacks of working out of one’s stash.  There wasn’t enough left over to make a belt and while the buttons match in artifical light, in bright sunlight, it’s clear that they are cream, not white.

I love this collar!

close-up of tucked hem

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Butterick 6236

  1. sarah says:

    the collar is amazing, you’re right! great job as usual!

  2. cindy says:

    That looks great!

  3. K-Line says:

    I love the sleeves!

  4. Heather says:

    This looks really lovely on you. It’s very flattering! Plus, it’s cute with your jeans and would look great with a skirt, too. Bonus!

Leave a comment