They Weren’t all Skinny

For a plus-sized gal who is into vintage, it can get disheartening to see all the lovely smaller patterns and actual vintage garments.  The commonly held belief that everyone was thin “back then” is a myth.  Today’s leader in plus-sized fashion, Lane Bryant, has been around for a long time.  I love looking at old Lane Bryant catalogs because them give me inspiration for sewing, as well as an idea of which patterns might work for my figure.  My latest Lane Bryant catalog is the Spring/Summer 1935 Stylebook.

I have a ton of lovely pictures from this catalog in my flickr stream! http://www.flickr.com/photos/12275674@N08/sets/72157623467391873/

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to They Weren’t all Skinny

  1. Janel says:

    VERY nice! Thanks for sharing those.

  2. Inky says:

    it’s so silly when people say over all “they were smaller then.” i have to say women had a MUCH better fashion selection that better corresponded to looks for both slender and “stout” bodies in the catalog.

  3. reilly says:

    Hey Andrea! The pattern I’m going to use for the dark blue blouse is from Lauren’s repros in her Etsy shop! It was called the stenographer blouse.

    And thank you! My initial one didn’t work out great either, I made up two blouses and I only have one thing (and the same thing) to wear with them. This time I’m trying to plan a little around some things I already have instead of making it all new.

Leave a Reply

