Advance 8047

Now that I’ve got a pretty sizable pattern collection with many basics, I’m trying to limit new acquisitions to patterns that have unusual style elements.  Advance 8047 has a very distinct neckline that I just fell in love with.  It was a pretty straight forward grade and sew.  My only complaint about this dress, and seems to be the norm for vintage patterns, is that the pockets are quite small.  I know I said in my last post that this fabric was to be a different dress, but as soon as this one arrived, I knew it had to be in this fabric.  Please excuse the flat hair and no make-up.  I’ve been pretty sick since Boxing Day..

close-up of neckline

parting shot: my new shoes that match the purple exactly!

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Advance 8047

  1. Inky says:

    i love it and that peek-a-boo neckline is very cool! the shoes are beautiful!! I wish I could wear ankle-straps – i am “blessed” with serious 11.5 cankles. at least i don’t fall over (too) easily.

  2. Alethia says:

    Love the dress. I have been reading your blog and l love your sense of fearless styles. I am going to introduce your blog to my daughter.

  3. Susan T. says:

    It’s beautiful!

  4. cindy says:

    I love your aesthetic! This dress looks fantastic on you. Now I’m going to run off and look for that pattern, fabric and shoes.

  5. Miss C says:

    Where did you find those shoes?! So cute. I love the neckline of the dress, and what you said about only looking for patterns now with unique design elements.

  6. MamaSewing says:

    I love your dress, and your shoes are just perfect!

  7. andreahg says:

    Anyone who’s interested in the shoes: they are by Diesel, regularly for $125 on sale now at Amazon for $22.99 http://www.amazon.com/Diesel-Neveau-Shoes-Heels-Pumps/dp/B001F8J5CU/ref=pd_ys_iyr_img

  8. Civilla says:

    Your creations are awesome!!!

  9. angie.a says:

    Beautiful Andrea! You always make the most incredible things. I don’t know how to resist new (old) patterns though, LOL! I’m making a new blog for vintage sewing contributors, and you were one of the first people I thought of! I hope you’ll join me! I’m really excited. I want a great big friendly blog full of vintage pattern sewing goodness. The more the merrier!!

    Can I leave a link in comments?? I’m going to try, HA!
    http://wesewvintage.wordpress.com

Leave a comment