FO: ManjiPuh PUHzzlePulli and PUHzzleLeggings

After living the vintage/rockabilly lifestyle for over 15 years, I am taking advantage of my weightloss to explore new styles. I am kinda salty that as soon as I lose weight, we get rid of skinny jeans and bodycon styles. As my partner, who also lost a good chunk of weight, says “spandex, spandex, spandex”. I’ve tried a few trendy, cottagecore outfits, but they don’t feel right. I want to be a cottagecore person. While looking for style inspiration, I ran into a German designer, ManjiPuh, whose styles are quite interesting with exposed seams, asymmetrical hemlines. Her styles are a departure from my normal styles. I chose the PUHzzle pullover and PUHzzle leggings with attached skirt

Because I had never made leggings, I started with those. I made the size 44 with a 3″ inseam and they were quite snug so I went up a size to a 46. The only alteration I did was to remove 4″ Because I had never made leggings, I started with those. I made the size 44 with a 3″ inseam and they were quite snug so I went up a size to a 46. The only alteration I did was to remove 4″ in length. I still need to take out another inch next time. After wearing all day, I have come to think that I either need to go down a size or use a fabric with a higher spandex content. I keep having to pull them up.

Next up, the top. One of the things that has changed is my willingness to fuss with fit. I did an initial muslin, saw that this top was drafted for a giant, bailed and regrouped. I pulled out my altered copy of the Audrey top by 5outof4 patterns and added the piecing lines from the PUHzzle pulli. I am not one for colorblocking, so the labeling, keeping track of pieces, assembly was all new to new but I love the aesthetic, so I stuck with it. The biggest learning curve was definitely learning how to adjust my serger. I’ve had multiple sergers over the years and if you had asked me last month, I would have said I was very comfortable with my serger. The reality is that despite owning sergers for 20 years, I don’t ever change the settings. I knew my machine could do a lettuce hem, I didn’t know how. It was much easier than I expected. The only problem is that the lettuce hem caused so much vibration that the stitch width lever (I think, can’t find the manual) broke. I was able to put it back to its standard settings, so it can be used for seam finishes, but I think I will have to get a new serger if I want to continue explore what it can do. Other than that, it went together very quickly in about 4 hours. And also, did you see that hood?

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment