Briar Rose Sweater

First off, I want to thank Tasha from http://blog.bygumbygolly.com/ for hosting the Briar Rose knit-a-long!  I have learned so much from her posts and this project that my knitting has gone to the next level.  I think the most important thing I learned from the project was to love knitting.  Prior to this sweater, I was knitting for the sake of keeping my hands busy.  Now that I’ve completed a wearable garment, I feel like a whole world of patterns has opened up.

Other than a single sock, I had never knit on smaller needles and was concerned that it would be bad from my carpal tunnel syndrome.  I discovered that smaller needles are actually better for my hands than larger needles.  I also found that I knit faster on smaller needles.  This could be because I have less pain on the smaller needles, so I can knit for longer periods of time.

Here’s another thanks to Tasha for her step-by-step guide to sizing up patterns.  For the most part, my Briar Rose sweater fits well.  It started out as a size 34in bust pattern and I sized it up to fit a 46in pattern.  It could be a couple inches longer and my math on the sleeve cap was wrong, so that I didn’t have any ease left to pleat the cap.

New skills I learned: re-sizing a pattern, button holes, pick and up knit, proper blocking.

Over impression: While I’m not sure how often I’ll wear this because of the length and because the color isn’t really flattering, I’m really happy I made this.  I almost feel this is a muslin.  I worked on getting the fit right and learned how to read a vintage pattern.  For the first time since I took beginning knitting class several years ago, my immediate thought when I finished this was “I need to buy more yarn”.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Briar Rose Sweater

  1. Lauren says:

    Wow! Your sweater looks amazing! It looks gorgeous on you, and congrats for finishing the project.
    I have the site bookmarked and really hope to go back and follow through on it. There’s lots of things in knitting I’ve never really grasped, and seeing how beautiful your sweater turned out makes me want to try it even more 🙂

  2. PepperReed says:

    “Buy More Yarn”

    Yessssss… Come over to the dark side. LOL! If you do have yarn and want to lengthen the sweater, you can ‘snip and unravel’ a row above the ribbing (to separate the rib from the body of the sweater), knit the stockinette portion adding additional length and then ‘graft’ the ribbing back on. Sounds complicated, but really its not; mostly just getting over the ‘scary part’ of snipping that first stitch and slipping the stitches on one at a time while unraveling.

    I do like the sweater on you, although I do think vibrant colors are more your style. Could you dye the sweater?

    • andreahg says:

      Cutting my sweater sounds scary! There is a cardi in “Big Girl Knits” that I’m dying for but uses steeks and that totally freaks me out. The problem with the color is that it looked more purple on my monitor when I bought it and it has more gray in it that I would have liked.

  3. molly says:

    cute! looks very comfortable

  4. Tasha says:

    Yay, congrats! It looks fantastic, the fit looks perfect and it’s very flattering. I think the color looks really nice on you!

    You’re right, your first one does kind of end up like a muslin in many ways. You start to realize how you want things of a similar style to fit, how long you want them, how you like your sleeves, and what kinds of alterations you might apply to other sweaters. You definitely have the skills to tackle other sweater patterns now! Isn’t that such a good feeling? 😀 I’m thinking later in the year I’ll do another knit-along, but this time with more of a stitch pattern (not just plain stockinette), to help people through resizing something more complicated.

    (p.s. I’d love it if I could post one of your pics on my blog when I do the round-up of finished sweaters, if that’s ok? I’d link back to your blog of course.)

  5. Viv says:

    Very cute sweater! It looks great on you! You did a fantastic job!

  6. Debi says:

    Love it!! The colour is great and I am loving the pocket detail as well!!

  7. Patti Hamel says:

    The sweater looks fantastic! I don’t know about it not being a good color for you, cause I really like it.

  8. andreahg says:

    Viv, Debi, Patti, thanks!

  9. PepperToast says:

    Wow, you sweater looks great. You should wear it often.

  10. Helen says:

    I am very impressed. It took me 3 years to finish knitting a hat, ahem. You did a great job on altering it to fit you- it’s a great fit! Congratulations!! You inspire me.

Leave a Reply

