The “No Spender Bender”

I was inspired to join the No Spender Bender by the lovely ladies over at http://vintagemission.blogspot.com/ and http://inkyknits.blogspot.com/.  They started on Janurary 1, so I’m late to the party.  I’ll be joining February 1.  My goal is to rey to limit unnecessary spending.  I’m going to follow the rules to are floating all over the internet.  I will give myself a pass on consumables, as long as they are needful.  A new lipstick is fine if I run out, but not if I just want a new color.  The same goes for sewing notions.  I typically don’t buy matching zippers and buttons when I buy fabric online or without a project in mind.  The No Spender Bender rules do not apply to anything bought for use no my hairstyling clients.  Most of the rules allow for 3 free passes, as well as deals just too good to skip.  I will add another rule, I get a free pass if I sell something of equal or greater value first.  I will also be making an effort to control the clutter in the house.  Since I will be trying to avoid online window shopping, I plan to use that time to go through the kids’ old toys, my closet, the basement, ect.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The “No Spender Bender”

  1. lydia says:

    Hi…..I just finished scrolling through your blog. I love it. I, too, am a vintage afficianato, mainly because I am now replacing all the 50’s and 60’s patterns I pitched in a flurry of “streamlining” my life! That was my era. I digress: The thought you hae put into your garments is amazing – if you have some wadders, who cares! It’s the process which counts.

    Best wishes……..Lydia

  2. lydia says:

    Hi…..I just finished scrolling through your blog. I love it. I, too, am a vintage afficianato, mainly because I am now replacing all the 50’s and 60’s patterns I pitched in a flurry of “streamlining” my life! That was my era. I digress: The thought you have put into your garments is amazing – if you have some wadders, who cares! It’s the process which counts.

    Best wishes……..Lydia

  3. Inky says:

    yay! I started No Spender Bender in November with Kitty Von Purr and it was a great success – Miss B joined in January and we’re going to keep it rolling through the months. It really has helped me stay focused, even though I use every single pass, lol, but I’m far less random about purchases and made it through all of January without an ebay or etsy purchase, which is AMAZING for me. I”m hoping February will be an even bigger success and I am going to try to not even use any passes. Welcome Aboard!

  4. andreahg says:

    Inky, my endgame is to stop buying $10 cheap clothes at Target/Walmart that wear out each season and buy fewer but higher quality items that last years. I can only do that if I have the money to spend on the higher quality stuff.

  5. angie.a says:

    I seriously need to do this!! Thanks for the link! 🙂

Leave a comment