Fall For Cotton

I can’t believe it’s been nearly 2 months since my last post.  I always hate when other bloggers apologize for their absence.  After all, unless you get paid to do it, both blogging and sewing is just a hobby.  I always loose my sewing motivation during the “transitional seasons” because I hate sewing things that I won’t be able to wear for several weeks.  Combine that with getting used to a new routine of not just a new school year start, but new wakeup times that go along with my older son starting high school.  That boy has to get up at 6am for school.  Also add in some new medications for a chronic health issue that leaves me a zombie for the first 1-2 hours of the day (really, the family swears to having conversations with me that I have no memory of).  Oh, remember that getting up at 6am for high school, yeah, he’s also home by 2:15pm.  He doesn’t need the hands-on parenting that he did when he was younger, but I still have the mindset that my personal time is over once he gets home.  So, yeah, I’m not apologizing for not blogging but also this let’s y’all know that I may not ever get back to the once a week blogging that I used to aim for.  Enough of that, let’s get to the pretty!

If you aren’t familiar with Fall For Cotton, it was a challenge run by http://luckylucille.com and http://bygumbygolly.com/.  The basics are a)use a vintage pattern, b)use cotton fabric.  I had plans.  I had BIG plans.  Yeah, that didn’t happen.  I think I’ve lost just enough weight to have my figure shift and not know how to fit it any more.  I tried many muslins of favorite 40s patterns and new-to-me 60s patterns and hated everything.  In a spark of genius, I remembered that 50s patterns always fit, right out of the envelope, without any alterations, other than for size.  Without making a muslin, I decided to cut into my fashion fabric.  This cotton had been in my stash for a long time.  I bought it from fabric.com and the print turned out to be much bigger than it looked online.  I was never sure it would work as a dress.  If this dress didn’t turn out, I wouldn’t be too disappointed.  In the end, I’m quite happy with it.

Fall for Cotton dress

The bodice is Butterick 7785

Butterick 7785

The skirt is from Butterick 6559

Butterick 6559

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fall For Cotton

  1. sdbev says:

    It looks great and even better on you. Yeah I ve had the experience of just enough of a weight shift that the old doesn t fit.

  2. Nessa says:

    It looks wonderful on you!

  3. Beth says:

    Love this dress, it looks great! And I hear you about apologizing for not blogging – I want to start again after a 6-month break, but I refuse to apologize for my absence. But starting off that first post again is always awkward!

  4. Bex says:

    That fabric is to die for!

  5. ksgentry says:

    What a wonderfully created vintage dress! It suits you. And welcome back!

  6. valsouth says:

    Absolutely love that dress, and the blog!

Leave a Reply

