Butterick 5895

Long time, no see, eh?  I’ve been working hard on losing some weight, so I didn’t want to sew something that might not fit in a few weeks.  I’ve gotten to the point where I’ve had to start taking in some of my favorite tops and my jeans and skirts are too big to stay on my waist.

I finally took the plunge and made up one of the Gertie for Butterick patterns.  This is Butterick 5895, crop top and capris.  I made the capris.  I’ve read in the blogosphere that these run large.  I’m not sure I buy that.  I’m down a full size from a month ago and according the the measurements, the largest size should have fit me.  I had to add 0.5 to the side seams to get them to fit.  I also raised the center back about 1.5 inches.  I shortened the leg length quite a bit.  I have tried to make pants/trousers several time and this is the first pair that didn’t immediately go into the waste bin.  It’s hard to tell if I’m happy with the fit because whenever I’ve used stretch denim in the past, they stretch out.  These feel a little tight around the thigh when I sit down, but is it because they are too tight or is it because they don’t have as much Lycra as RTW denim?  I think I need to wear them a few times to figure that out.  My only complaint is that the pockets are too shallow but that can be changed in future pairs.  I’m pretty sure I’ll be making these again.

Butterick 5895

I’ve seen people complain that retro jeans make your bum look long and flat, but I think mine is ok.  On the other hand, I’ve always been of the mind that since I don’t see it all the time, I don’t care what my bum looks like.

 

 

back of Butterick 5895

I normally don’t tuck blouses into trousers because I feel like it draws attention to my round tummy, but this isn’t too bad.  I know it’s more vintage to wear them like this, so here ya go!

Butterick 5895, tucked in

 

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Butterick 5895

  1. Nessa says:

    The trousers look really good on you! I bet you are glad that you persevered with these ones! Hope you can work out the stretch issues for your next pair – and how encouraging that there will even be a next pair!
    Congratulations on your weight loss efforts! It can be a hard and lengthy journey, and one that I need to start out on (again). So thanks for sharing, I can use all the sisterly / right-there-with-you kind of encouragement I can get.

    • andreahg says:

      On comparing this fabric to my ready to wear ones, the RTW have a lot more stretch. I’m looking for higher lycra content in my next pair.
      Thanks! Once you set your mind to it, it’s not that hard. Getting started on a new program is the hardest part.

  2. You look great! I love these capris, the high waist looks really cute. Big congrats on your weight loss, and good luck. Xxx

  3. Dyan says:

    eeeeek these look fab on you. I think you look slimmer with them tucked in. Loving the hair x

  4. Kate says:

    They look great on you! I had never thought I wanted to sew this for me, but I might need to rethink that.

  5. ksgentry says:

    Glad that you persevered with the capris. They look absolutely fabulous on you. I have noticed that a lot of the jean pockets are not as deep as RTW. Nice job!

  6. Cute outfit, I have been thinking of tackling that pattern myself (along with about 50 or 100 others).Congratulations on the weight loss!!!!. I know how hard that can be as I am struggling with that myself right now. It is a challenge knowing what to sew oneself if you are attempting weight loss. I was looking at wrap dresses and skirts as they can be adjusted as sizes change.

  7. prttynpnk says:

    Ok, I’ve totally feared that pattern and the husband keeps suggesting it- you look awesome! Now I’m sold- I want them too- they are so cute on you!

  8. Carolyn says:

    Adorable outfit! The top looks great with the capris both tucked in or left out!

  9. ada Hathaway says:

    Frist congratulations on the weight loss. Your jeans look great. What do you think is the difference between this pattern and the other patterns that didn’t work?

    • andreahg says:

      Thanks! I think the big difference is the high waist. Because I am an inverted triangle, my hips are 2 inches smaller than my bust, any pants, sewn or RTW, that come below the naural waist fall down on me. On all the modern styled pants I’ve tried, I’ve raised the waist with not much success. These are drafted to sit at the natural waist, so all the curves and darts, ect are all in the right spot.

  10. Jenn says:

    You look fantastic! Congratulations on your losses and good luck on your journey to many more!

  11. Fabulously lovely summertime look, gorgeous gal! I just adore how well the dark denim compliments the soft, aged looking cream background of the blouse.

    ♥ Jessica

  12. Cynthia says:

    You look great with the blouse tucked in! Congrats on the weight loss!

  13. Bex says:

    Lovely! I wasnt sure about them, but after seeing them on you i’ll give them a try for Summer 🙂

Leave a Reply

