A Palate Cleanser

Another post so soon?  Yes, it’s true.  As the day went on, I felt worse and worse about the Hummingbird outfit that I felt the need to start a new project right away so that it didn’t steal my sewing mojo.  This project reminded me why I first fell in love with vintage patterns.  While my original copy of McCall’s 3263 is a size 16, 34in bust, I only had to make 2 alterations, I added 3 inches to the pattern piece (yes, only one piece for the whole garment) and lengthened it an inch above the waist.  The first muslin fit perfectly.  While I feel ridiculous in the huge skirts, 50s bodices are drafted perfectly for my figure.  Because the pattern it a single piece and has only 2 seams, one of each side, it took me all of 2 hours and most of that was the bias binding on the neckline and sleeves.  I have been wanting a peasant blouse for so long but knew all that fullness around my waist would do me no favours.  I love that this peasant blouse has lots of horizontal darts to fit it through the midriff.  I can see making several of these.

Cherries McCalls 3263

McCalls 3264

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Palate Cleanser

  1. Stephanie says:

    How cute! I think it looks so flattering on you. 🙂 I tend to wear peasant blouses tucked in because then I still have a waist line.

  2. I love this!This going on my to do list,thanks for posting!

  3. This is adorable… and it is so becoming to you.. You look really pretty in this photo.. Have
    you done something different to your hair..
    Lovely pattern.. I love vintage patterns too..

    • andreahg says:

      Thanks! Back in February, I decided to stop coloring my hair. I shaved my head with clippers, using a #4 guard. I’ve been wearing wigs until it was long enough to style it again.

  4. That shape is just perfect on you and the cherries are darling! Great job!

  5. granadafan says:

    This looks beautiful on you!

  6. Seriously cute outfit! Gosh, do I love that super cute top – and of course the denim capri pants, too. I have a (store bought) pair that are my go-to bottoms all summer long for things like evening walks on the beach, yard saling, and picking fresh fruit. When they give up the ghost one day, I swear I’ll try to track down the exact same pair again – that’s how much I love them (it’s rare that pants fit me even remotely well, but they guys do, so they’re really near and dear to my wardrobe’s heart).

    Wishing you a super fantastic 4th of July, dear gal!
    ♥ Jessica

  7. deb Clark says:

    Love the top – you have inspired me to get sewing again!
    Also, I nominated you for a blog award, just see my blog for details.
    http://debyclark.blogspot.com.au/

    Deb xx

Leave a Reply

