MMM day 10/ Great Gatsby Sewing Challenge

Today’s MMM outfit requires a post of it’s own because it’s also for the Great Gatsby Sewing Challenge.

I had originally muslined and planned a different dress but I got tired of waiting for the fabric I ordered.  I decided to try something that I could make from stash fabric.  Since I normally sew 40’s and 50s garments, most of my stash fabric is stiff cottons.  However, I do love sewing with knits.  This dress is made from a rayon blend jersey that I had originally planned for another Tiramisu dress.

Because I wanted to get right to it, rather than fussing with muslins, I decided to use the Jalie scarf collar top as the base of my dress, then add style elements from Pictorial Review 3313 to give it a 20s feel.  Yes, it is more fitted than a 20s dress normally would be, but I think more flattering.

It only required 2 major changes from the original Jalie top, which I’ve made before so my pattern already fit me.  I lengthened the top to a mid-calf length, then added the add front-only peplum from the Pictorial Review.  I have seen several patterns with this strange peplum but I’m not sure I like it.  If I make this again, I will add a front AND a back so it is more of a tier.

Great Gatsby Sewing Challenge dress

Pictorial Review 3313

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Me Made May 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MMM day 10/ Great Gatsby Sewing Challenge

  1. Melizza says:

    You look gorgeous. What a fabulous dress.

  2. Karen Hughes says:

    The peplum is a little odd, but you look gorgeous in this dress. The fitting you’ve done is very flattering on your figure.

  3. I love it! Beautiful neckline. Xxx

Leave a Reply

