MMM2013 Day 1

Welcome to Me-Made-May.  My plan is to do once or twice a week posts with a few pictures rather than every day posts with a single outfit.  In past Me-Made challenges, the posts were more of a challenge than wearing me-made outfits.  So, here’s today’s outfit:

MMM day 1

I’ve also been doing some thinking and planning about the Great Gatsby Challenge.  While I do have a couple vintage patterns, I get very nervous handling the paper.  I normally don’t have that problem with vintage patterns but these are so old that they are very brittle.  I have started thinking that it might be better to adapt a modern pattern to a 20s look.  My favorite pattern, New Look 6808, offers a view that has a 20s feel.  I think all I’d need to do is add a skirt to view E. Could this pass?

 

NL 6808

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Me Made May 2013, separates. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MMM2013 Day 1

  1. Nessa says:

    Such a sweet top!
    I do like your pattern choice for the Gatsby challenge.
    Perhaps you could take out your 20s patterns and trace them, then file away the originals inside conservation-tissue paper envelopes and seal them up? Scan the covers and file with your traced patterns. Might preserve the originals for longer, then you only have to handle them this one time, and the best part is that you get to use them.
    As you can see, I secretly hope you do get to make an original.

  2. I love the new look pattern too.. I have made it several times.. SO comfortable. I think it could convert to a 20’s style dress very well.. Wishing you the best. Look forward to seeing what you decide. Happy sewing.

Leave a Reply

