The Great Gatsby Sewing Challenge

It seems that I am late to the party, but Miss Crayola Creepy has issued The Great Gatsby Challenge (http://misscrayolacreepy.blogspot.com/2013/04/the-great-gatsby-sewing-challenge.html)  I have always loved 1920s fashion but didn’t think it would suit my figure.  Over the years, I’ve gathered a small collection of silent movie star photos showing more fitted styles.  Perhaps they only wore tight dresses in the movies, but it gives the impression that 20s styles can be made to fit a shapely figure.  The challenge ends on May 31, which is plenty of time to make a dress.

Here are the current choices:

Gatsby Challenge choices

I’m not as familiar with the evolution of 20s fashions but I think the McCall pattern is older than the Butterick pattern.  I’m leaning toward the McCall, because I can picture more easily how to make it fitted by adding a couple vertical darts on the front and back.  However, I LOVE the collar on the Butterick dress.  I think I’ll muslin the McCall first and see what a couple darts can do.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Great Gatsby Sewing Challenge

  1. Stephanie says:

    To me the Butterick looks older than the McCall. The waist line dropped lower and the silhouette got more column shaped as the decade wore on. But the 20s aren’t my decade of expertise either.

    • andreahg says:

      The reason I think the McCall is older is because the skirt is longer. Towards the end of the 20s, the waistline is very close to the natural waist. Based the Sears fashion book I have, the McCall’s looks about 1924-25ish while the Butterick looks like it could be a junior dress from 1929.

      • Stephanie says:

        Hmmm…I hadn’t thought about one possibly being a junior dress. Juniors outfits are always a bit different from the adult fashions. Both look cute either way!

  2. judy says:

    I love them both, and know you will do a great job , with which ever you choose. Happy sewing.

Leave a Reply

