Simplicity 1609

Today’s project is totally out of my comfort zone.  I really like the late 60s mod styles but haven’t tried making a mod dress until this one.  I’m not sure mod is me.  Since Simplicity 1609 is a new print from the Spring 2013 collection, I did an extensive patternreview.com review.  Here it is:

Pattern Description: Misses’ sleeveless, modern 1960’s A-line dress has center font seam, fitting darts and back zipper. Choose scalloped collar, neck bow or round neckline. 2 Main pattern pieces. Simplicity Jiffy sewing pattern.

Pattern Sizing: 6-22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I made a few style changes, so no.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the mod styling and the “Jiffy” quick to assemble factor.
Fabric Used: cotton/linen blend from my local Hancock.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Where to begin?!?! The most important thing to note about this pattern is lack of above the waist alteration lines. Because of the odd, yet correct to the period, vertical dart, altering this for the petite or high-waisted figure is NOT easy. An half inch tuck above the waist completely distorted the drape of the dress around the dart. I also did a sloping shoulder adjustment that made the neckline sit funny. I reverted back to the original shoulder seams in the final garment. As is typical for me with modern patterns, I cut a size 20 for the shoulders/neckline area, then 22 at the side, plus a 1 in FBA. Because this is a reprint I omitted a petite adjustment between the bust point and shoulders but I that this is something I should have done. There is a lot of extra fabric right under my shoulders that billowes unattractively if I’m not standing very straight. I made two style changes: added a TnT cap sleeve and rounded out the collar on view A.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I think this would be cute on a tall figure, whether full or slim figured or on a very slim average figure. Because of the oddly shaped dart that goes from hip to bust-point, I would not recommend this for anyone who needs an above the waist petite-
or long-waisted adjustment.

Conclusion: I’m quite disappointed with this pattern. I avoid actual vintage patterns from this period because that funky dart is very common in those dresses. I was hoping that a modern reprint would have above the waist adjustment recommendations/lines, ect. I’m also unhappy with the above-the-shoulder fit. When I can find them, 44in bust vintage patterns fit me right out of the envelope. This dress does not fit me like a vintage pattern usually does. I also think that this dress looks a little like maternity on me, which I should have expected. I know more fitted styles suit my figure but I wanted to try something out of my comfort zone.

simplicity 1609

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Simplicity 1609

  1. Nessa says:

    Thanks for your honest pattern review, and for trying something new and out of the ordinary. Despite your reservations, it does look quite good on you, so I do hope you get some wear out of it.

  2. I really like it..Looks good on you. Happy sewing.

Leave a Reply

