EvaDress 3322

Today’s FO is http://www.evadress.com/3322.html, overalls/dungarees.  This is my second time making the overalls, but I have also made a couple pair of trousers from this pattern.  My first pair of overalls were well-loved but not perfect.  I used a heavyweight denim that nearly defeated my Pfaff.  Most of the sewing was fine, but the buttonholes were in rough shape.  Every time I machinewashed them, the buttonholes frayed very badly.

This time, I used a mid-light weight.  I also decided to use a zip for the closure.  Not only does this eliminate the possibility of frayed buttonholes but makes dressing and undressing much easier.  I also added 0.5 inch to the side seams because this denim is 100% cotton with no lycra.  After looking at pictures of my first pair, I decided to raise the waistline an inch, but I think a half inch would have been better.  I think the straps are too far apart.  I should have put them on and marked the bib buttonholes rather than just putting them in the far corners.  Even with the few mistakes, I love them.  I think I love them even more than my first pair because this fabric is a little softer and easier on the skin.

Evadress overalls

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to EvaDress 3322

  1. Nancy says:

    Love! I so need to get on the ball and make a pair, but that requires moving…

  2. sewexhausted says:

    Very nice! I love me a good pair of overalls! They look great on you~ Kerrielee

  3. nessahux says:

    Glad you are happy with your new make.
    Would love to see a photo – but on my bloglovin and on my blogger dashboard none appears?

  4. Bex says:

    Oooh I really want to see these! Photos??

  5. tigergirl says:

    I’m not normally a fan of overalls but these look fantastic on you – now you’ve got me rethinking!

Leave a Reply

