Sewing for Victory dress

Today’s project is Hollywood 1144.  That’s right, I used neither of the patterns pictured in my last post.  I made muslins of the bodices in each of those patterns and decided they were going to take a lot of work to make them wearable.  Hollywood 1144 is a basic princess seamed dress, which I know always works for me.  This dress ended up being a little loose through the waist, but I think that’s because the pattern calls for waist ties and I didn’t have enough fabric for them.  This was a simple grade up and I used my TnT princess seam FBA for the bust.  This dress has lots of potential.

BTW, we’ve rearranged the furniture in my living room, so I’m trying to find a good spot for pictures.  I think I might have to break down and get a tripod.

birds Hollywood 1144

Because it’s still quite cold in the Washington, DC area, this is how I ended up wearing it today.

bird dress with snowflake sweater

Hollywood 1144

 

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses, Sewing for Victory. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sewing for Victory dress

  1. spinneretta says:

    Love it 🙂 Maybe you can do a contrast back tie or something? But it looks great anyway 🙂

  2. judy says:

    Super cute.. I love it.. Happy sewing.. Hope your enjoying your new job..[What better place to work, than around fabric..yea]

  3. nessahux says:

    Your dress looks really good on you!

  4. Ada says:

    Beyond your usual great fit, I love the color combinations in this dress. Awesome.

  5. Love (seriously love!) the colour palette and lines of this wonderful dress. You look thoroughly wonderful and so ready to greet the return of spring weather.

    Happiest Good Friday & Easter weekend wishes!
    ♥ Jessica

  6. Grace says:

    I love the pockets and your cardigan is amazing!

Leave a Reply

