Sewing for Victory choices

I’ve narrowed down my pattern choices to just two.  I’m torn because they both have their pros and cons.  Please help me choose.

Hollywood 822 is super cute and I love the scalloped waistline that is echoed at the scalloped collar.  However, I have had a hard time with dropped waistlines in the past.  I can fit the muslin bodice perfectly, but once the skirt is added, the bodice gets pulled down and the waist is no longer fitted.  They have turned out looking like 80’s Gunne Sax dresses.

On the other hand, Hollywood 1089 on the right, might not be wearable at work.  If you’ve never worked in a fabric store, you may not be aware of how much physical labor is involved, even more so than a typical retail job.  My Tiramisu dress doesn’t get much wear at work because I can only wear it with a camisole, adding an extra layer of heat.  They ac/heating is broken and it is constantly blowing hot air all year round.  I don’t think I’d want a wrap dress that would require a full slip to protect my modesty at work.  The question then being, am I willing to spend time sewing a dress I can’t wear to work.  I’ll have to think on that.

SfV pattern choices

A few months ago, we got some wonderful cotton into the shop that was an exact match of a vintage dress that I saw on Etsy.  I picked up enough to make either of these two dresses.  I had a hard time getting the color right in pictures.  The background is a cornflower blue and the birds are a bright teal.

SfV fabric

I also have another FO to share.  I made another Simplicity 1410 suspender skirt.  I tweaked the fit a bit and struggled with matching the plaid.  It was a pain but I’m glad I did it.  This poor skirt is almost a wardrobe orphan.  I have no long sleeve tops to wear with it.  I must focus on winter sewing.

suspender skirt

This is how I ended up wearing it.

suspender skirt in action

 

 

 

 

 

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses, separates, Sewing for Victory. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sewing for Victory choices

  1. Michelle jadaa says:

    They are both lovely patterns!Im hoping to get some larger sized vintage patterns.Most i see are small sizes.

  2. Both of those patterns are really cute! What if you sewed the wrap dress, but inserted a modesty panel (fastened on the inside with snaps so you could remove it when you weren’t at work, if you wanted) instead of having to wear a full slip? That way you’d get the protection of a slip but without the full extra layer.

  3. Nessa says:

    If it were me, I’d probably go for the wrap dress, as I don’t look good in drop waists either. You could try permanently sewing the wrap part of the bodice closed, that might help with modesty, or even a flesh coloured false dicky that covered the decolette and was attached with snaps – along the lines of Butterick 5747.

    • andreahg says:

      I’ve had 50’s dropwaist dresses look good but I think it’s because they are soooo fitted at the waist. Stitching the bodice closed would be the easy part. I’m wondering how to finish off the skirt part.

      • A pleat underneath the wrapover? – cut the skirt the width called for by the pattern, plus the distance between the vertical hems when it’s closed, and insted of hemming 2 edges, stitch it into a tube and form a pleat where the wrapover should be, or even form the extra into 2 pleats closer to the “over” edge, to give walking room – is that as clear as mud? Think of it as a sarong-tube stitched to the waistband?

  4. Both patterns are cute but 822 looks like it would work better. A trick I use for plaids is to take colored pencils of crayons (five children & 11 grandchildren crayons are always handy) and draw the plaid on the pattern piece then find that on the fabric and cut. You fold seams out of the way when drawing on the plaid. I’ve done it that way for years. I also always baste together while matching. It’s worth ripping out basting a few times to get a perfect match. I enjoy seeing your vintage clothes. Love your blog.

Leave a Reply

