Winter slump

If you’ve been following my blog since the beginning, you’ve probably read similar posts to what I’m going to write today.  I seem to hit a sewing slump every January.  It hit earlier this year, due to increased Christmas hours at the shop.  Now that my work schedule has lightened up a bit, I was hoping to get back to sewing.  The reality is that I just don’t have the motivation to sew.  The creative process relaxes me, so I really want to want to sew, if that makes sense.  I’ve made a number of muslins that haven’t worked out.  I have a couple UFOs that I’m trying to decide if they are wadders.  The closest thing to a successful winter project I’ve made ever is sitting on my dressform, waiting to be hemmed because I know it will be an orphan.  Because of my thyroid disease, I’m always very cold in winter and never feel like dressing up.  Top this with an allergy to wool and I end up with a winter wardrobe full of jeans and long sleeve t-shirts.  I’m actually glad that the heating system at the shop is broken because that means I can wear all my summer dresses to work.

Today’s dress is another example of a failed winter project.  Butterick 6293 is a 1940s reprint that is currently out-of-print.  The cotton version is one of my favorite dresses.  This dress is my second attempt to make a winter version.  It’s better than the first, but still not as good as the cotton version.  Perhaps babywale cord is still stiff.  Maybe it would drape better in a wool challis, which I can’t wear.  All of the bust shaping is in the CF darts, which really poof out in the cord.  I also can’t decide if the print is too cutesy.  In cotton, in the middle of summer, I’d wear the heck out of some scotties but winter always feels like I should be wearing more somber clothes.  I’ll keep it.  It looks great with a red cardi, but I don’t know how much wear it will get.

Scottie Butterick 6293

Here’s the summer one that I love!

cotton Butterick 6293

By the way, I keep going back and forth on the bangs/fringe.  Grow them out or keep the Bettie bangs?

 

 

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Winter slump

  1. Nessa says:

    The Scottie dress is fantastic! The shape and the style look terrific on you! As soon as I saw it I opened up a new tab to have a look at the pattern but as you said it’s out of print. I have been wanting to make a more wintery dress myself and was contemplating cord, so thanks for your reflections and tips about it’s suitability with your dress. Cheer up though – there is still lots of creativity happening whilst we think and plan about projects! You look amazing.

  2. Susan says:

    I love the Scottie dress. If it is bunchy due to the combination of darts and fabric, it is not apparent in the photo. Winter dress fabrics are hard to find – drape is important to me. I appreciate the heads-up regarding the corduroy. I also love the bangs.

  3. judy says:

    I love, love the scottie dogs.. The dress looks fabulous on you..[love your summer version too]..
    Hope you get the sewing fever soon.. I too, have been [and always do] slacking on my sewing. the winter clothes are always heavy and dark.. and I just like spring clothes.

  4. prttynpnk says:

    These are gorgeous!! I want, I want! These would deslump me in a big way!

  5. Heather says:

    I love both dresses as well 🙂 The Scottie fabric is totally adorable.

    And I think you look amazing both ways but I’m a fan of the bangs. I think we’re around the same age and every once in a while I think about growing my bangs out, and actually do grow them out a little, and then realize that the bangs are more flattering 🙂 And your Bettie bangs are fab.

  6. Cynthia says:

    I absolutely love the scottie dress…….it looks fantastic on you…….also love your hair in that picture.

  7. Marianne C. says:

    I love the scottie dress too! I think it looks very cute on you and that dark color keeps it from being too cutsie! Love your hair too!

Leave a Reply

