Another Simplicity 1882

It feels so good to get back into my sewing room!  I haven’t had much luck with muslins lately, so I went back to a TnT dress.  The first version of Simplicity 1882 was black and red, completed over the summer.  I knew as soon as I finished it that I would make more.  Yes, it’s another black one with leopard contrasts.  It is the perfect work dress, huge pockets, just enough flare in the skirt for easy movement, v-neck collar that flatters but is modest when I’m leaning over the cutting table.  One of our regular customers calls this dress, and the red one, my “50’s diner waitress goth”  look.  I think that’s cute.

The only change I made to this version was to use the longer sleeve.  I was originally going to make a 3/4 length sleeve for winter, but cut it off to make it more versatile.  The long sleeve has more ease in the sleeve cap and I ended up with a slightly puffy sleeve.

Leopard Simplicity 1882

I’m still working on my Colette Peony muslin.  I think I’ve made 4 by now.  I’ve done my FBA and moved the darts.  I decided to compare the upperchest of Peony to my favorite blouse pattern.  This shows why Peony doesn’t fit me comfortably.  Look at how wide and low the armscye is!  I can’t decide if it’s worth it to keep working on it.

Peony armscye

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Another Simplicity 1882

  1. Oh my good gracious, you are adorable! I just found you through SewExhausted blog and glad I did. I love the dress you made! Impressive lady! Such cute little leopard details too. 😉
    -Jamie
    http://chatterblossom.blogspot.com/

  2. Marybeth says:

    That dress is really adorable! You look great!

  3. Nessa says:

    I love it! this is such a great dress pattern on you, and your fabric choices are modest with an accent of edgy! thanks for reminding me of the pattern, it’s still on my list to try!

  4. Ada says:

    Very very nice. You do the same thing I do…Keep fighting with a pattern even thought it has proved itself to not work for me. If I manage to make it work I am so sick of it that I end up not using it.

  5. sewexhausted says:

    I have been enjoying the great clothes you make! You have a great blog and have been nominated for the Liebster Award. More info on it here. http://sewexhausted.wordpress.com/2012/12/10/liebster-award-for-moi/

  6. Cynthia says:

    I just found your blog and I wanted to say that I love your style. So cute! This dress its to die for. Cheers

  7. It looks lovely and really suits you 🙂 what a flattering shape!

Leave a Reply

