McCall’s 4136

I’m really happy with today’s FO.  This is view B from McCall’s 4136 (1973).  To my eye, this view looks more 40’s to me than the other view that I blogged about last month.  I also find it to be more flattering.  I love the shaped hem and heart neckline.  I think I need to make a few more.  I think I’ve finally solved the 40’s separates problem that I have.  Most 40s blouses are designed to be worn tucked into the skirt, but a high waist and low bust makes that unflattering on me.  The shaped hem allows me to wear this untucked and given the illusion of a longer torso.  This is a great development as I have found that 40s styles are the most comfortable for me to wear at work.

I only made 2 changes to this pattern.  I added .75 inch in length above the waist and 2 inches to the side seams.

And just to show you how similar this 1970s pattern is to 1940s styles, here is McCall 5396

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to McCall’s 4136

  1. Lauren says:

    That’s totally cute! It does look really 1940s looking. I have a few 70’s patterns in my stash, too, for the same reason.
    Looks great on you!

  2. Evis says:

    So cute! Much better than the pattern illustration really.

  3. I love it.. And it looks just like the 40’s pattern.. Happy sewing. Hope your enjoying your new job.. I just know ,I would have loved to work in a fabric store.

  4. Rita says:

    It looks fantastic!!

  5. I agree with the ladies above! The tucked-in look can be hard for me to pull off too. Your pattern looks just like the 40’s one and the 70s and 80s patterns are more readily available. I hope to tackle a retro sewing project in the near future.

  6. Lyndle says:

    Great blouse! And great find. I can’t wear tucked in shirts either – they make me look really funny. Ths hemline looks really nice on you.

  7. Dawn says:

    Wow, nice!

  8. I really like that shirt. It’s gorgeous. And I have always seen a similarity in 70s and 40s styles, at least the clothes I like of each era.

Leave a Reply

