The New Job

I thought I’d give y’all an update on the job, since it looks like I might not have anything FOs to share for a while.  This is because of a rule at the fabric shop that only the manage can ring employee sales.  While this is good for my wallet, bad for my productivity.  I have a shopping list of basics, like thread, muslin, interfacing, ect that I need to finish projects but haven’t been able to purchase.  Once I get these items, I’ll have several FOs to share.

I’ll start this off by saying that I know that I’m crazy.  How many people actually enjoy working retail jobs, right?  I have only had one office job and I hated it.  I love the crazy hours, the crush of a crowded shop, helping people with their purchases.  When it’s not busy, I can take time with each customer, helping her choose fabrics or show a new sewist out how to read the back of a pattern.  I am learning so much from them, also.  Did you know that we carry a fusible WOVEN interfacing?  I need a whole bolt, like,  yesterday!  I can see where working there will have a huge impact on my style.  One of the tasks I did recently was to put away all the new fall patterns.  For the last 3-4 years, I haven’t really paid attention to modern patterns much but while putting them in their drawers, I got a chance to look over each of them.  I’ll take that one and that one and that one…

As for the impact at home, so far, so good.  I’m only working 2-3 days per week and mostly during the school day.  Fridays are the only days when I come home late and that’s no big deal.  The boys are usually off doing their own thing after school on Fridays and don’t even miss me.  A hot, home-cooked dinner is still getting on the table, the laundry is still getting down and the house is mostly clean.  It’s shedding season for the collies, so I won’t take total blame for the mess.

And just so this post isn’t completely devoid of pretty pictures, I present this pattern, which just arrived.  I plan to work on grading this as soon as I get my hands on some muslin

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The New Job

  1. Dawn says:

    Love the neckline on that- can’t wait to see it made up!

  2. Janice says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished dress!

Leave a Reply

