McCall’s 4136

Today’s FO is my first 1970s patterns.  70s, you say?  I see this as a 70s does 40s design.  I’ve seen several 1940s blouses that look similar to this design.  The big difference is that this pattern is for knits, which was rare-to-nonexistant in 40s designs.  I love sewing with knits and I find them much warmer in the winter. (yes, I’m thinking about winter already).  I consider this a wearable muslin.  Since this was my first time grading a knit pattern, I wasn’t sure what to expect.  It could use some more length along the shoulder seam and possibly an inch in length above the waist.  Other than that, I really like this.  I want to try the sweethear neckline, also.

I also made another 1950s top, this time, with Alexander Henry tattoo fabric.  I found the pattern number, it’s Simplicity 3263

 

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to McCall’s 4136

  1. Susan says:

    I definitely remember these styles from the 70s. I love them – very feminine, especially for knit tops.

  2. Gosh, I just love them both, but aren’t you clever for choosing the McCall’s pattern from the seventies!! You did such an amazing job (as usual) with the sizing, sewing and fabric selection.

  3. love it..Looks great on you

  4. Sandra says:

    I especially love the second top Andrea.

  5. Gail Ann Thompson says:

    I really appreciate your posts. You always look graceful and lovely.

  6. prttynpnk says:

    I love them! Such a flattering shape while not being crazy dressy, you know?

Leave a Reply

