Butterick 5747

I’ve been a bad blogger.  I can’t believe it’s been over a month since my last post.  First was my trip to London.  I had a wonderful but I didn’t take any pictures.  I discovered that I left the camera memory card in my desktop.  Following that was a severe storm that caused a multi day power outage.  Normally, I love to indulge in blaming the power company, but when the winds are powerful enough to snap the poles in half like a twig, it’s not really their fault.

I finished this top right before the London trip.  It’s from a 1950’s Simplicity pattern.  Unfortunately, all I have is the muslin, not the original, so I can’t find the number.  This is the first time I’ve made it since gaining some weight.  I was concerned that it wouldn’t look as good on the larger me but I shouldn’t have worried.  1950’s patterns fit me like a glove no matter what I weigh.

This dress is Butterick 5747, which is a current release and early 60’s reprint.  I’m not sure how I feel about this one.  I think the wide collar is not doing me favors and I shortened the skirt a tad too much.  Also, I’m not thrilled with the gaping buttons.  The muslin didn’t gape like that, so it might be a factor of using stretch poplin.  The pattern has box pleats in front and back and a very oddly placed box pleat at the side seams.  I originally planned on eliminating it but changed my mind.  I think I like it.  It adds some flare to my otherwise slim hips.  This one needs to be test driven before I completely make up my mind.

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses, separates. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Butterick 5747

  1. Susan says:

    I love them both, but oh my – that green dress! I recognize the gapping and collar issues, but still – it is so flattering. Great color and silhouette.

  2. Nuranar says:

    Yes, the green dress is a winner! Maybe not so much the collar, but the sleeve line is really good, and the skirt has the perfect amount of flare. The skirt length is perfect as well. This is *incredibly* well-proportioned.

  3. judy says:

    So proud you enjoyed your trip to London. Sounds soooooooooo fun.. I love your new green dress. It is really pretty and I think looks very pretty on you.. Maybe you will do more of this pattern. Very becoming.. Happy sewing.

  4. keisha says:

    i love the green dress! the buttons, sash and skirt flare are perfect!! very flattering and just fun and cute!! hope your trip was nice even though it sucks about ur pictures!!

  5. prttynpnk says:

    That green dress is great! I love the crisp color and I’m dying to try it myself now that I’ve seen yours. I love your top,too. Do you mind if I just copy you all the time?

  6. Theo says:

    I love that green dress on you. Personally I don’t wear anything that has a hem higher than my knees. Im not sure if you are the same but this dress at your knees looks wonderful on you. This has to be one of my fav outfits on you.

  7. Melissa says:

    I just bought this at Joann’s for $.99; it reminds me of that lovely green number Maureen O’Hara wore in “The Parent Trap” when she first arrived in CA for the reunion between the twins.
    I think despite the small flaws it looks lovely on you.

    I also LOVE that cherry print fabric.

Leave a Reply

