Ahoy, mate!

Like a every Rockabilly cliche-loving gal, I am all about sailor themed outfits.  I’ve made other before that didn’t really suit me but today’s FO is one that I love.  I was origianally inspired by a dress that I saw on Etsy, but sadly, it did not come in my size.  Not only that, but I knew that the dirndl style dress would not do my figure any good.  I set out to make my own.

I had planned to use my favorite princess-seamed jumper/pinafore pattern from 1941, only to discover that I have lost that pattern.  I scoured the internet to find either another copy or something similar.  I hit a series of snags, either being outbid on eBay or buying incomplete patterns.  I had the fabric preshrunk, ironed and ready to go, but I was losing hope.  While looking through my small box of modern patterns for a different project, I stumbled on Vogue7848.  While it’s currently OOP, the Vogue website still has it listed.  I did my usual full bust adjustment and high waist adjustment that I need on all modern patterns.  I’m not a big fan on the sundress look on me.  I think it’s too much upperchest.  I prefer a halter style neck, with straps that tie at the back of the throat.  I quickly made up a bolero from Anne Adams 9243 and the results are fantastic!

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ahoy, mate!

  1. Susan says:

    Nice job – what a sweet dress!

  2. sdbev says:

    Really neat. The bolero is the perfect touch.

  3. Isis says:

    Lovely! It suits you very well!

  4. Ada says:

    The fit is great, the bolero adds just the right touch and the blue and white is perfect for this outfit.
    I often wonder how I can lose a pattern when the thing never leaves the house? Yesterday I lost a collar band pattern piece. I searched the sewing garbage, under everything on the cutting table. Nothing. I was contemplating the idea of buying another pattern or trying to draft the band myself. I decided one more search was the better plan. I found it on the table next to the chair where I sit to cut out patterns and do hand sewing. It was under another piece of paper. It would help if I were a better house keeper.

  5. ooooh what a perfect sailor outfit!! i love that it’s so nautical and vintage looking but not overly sweet 🙂

  6. Nikki says:

    You have amazing style! I love your blog!

  7. THis is so cute.. Great job…

Leave a Reply

