A Step Up

Now that I’ve put together a decent sized wardrobe of basics, my goal is to upgrade that wardrobe.  I’ve never been much of a clotheshorse and have never felt comfortable with things like color blocking or print matching.  It’s time that I step out of my comfort zone and take time to do the extra touches that are so important in a handsewn wardrobe.  Today’s FO is a fine example of those extra touches.  This is not separates, but an outfit.  I made the piping and covered buttons with the fabric leftover from the skirt.  It only added a couple hours of work, but in my opinion, really gives it some flare.  I can still wear each piece, the skirt with a black tee and the top with jeans, so it’s still more practical than a dress.

I can’t decide if I prefer it belted or not.  What do you think?

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Step Up

  1. Nuranar says:

    Golly, they BOTH look really good. I can’t decide! The first is a hair more classic/early 60s looking, while the second is maybe a little more trendy/40s. I’d say go with it either way!

    I’ll be looking forward to more upgrade posts. I admire how much you sew, and I love seeing how you’ll put them into outfits. 🙂

  2. Susan says:

    Love it! You look plenty hourglass-y without the belt, so my vote is for no belt.

  3. prttynpnk says:

    I love it! I vote for unbelted- you’ve got a nice little hourglass working there- let ’em know it’s all your own! I’m applauding your piping detail- I’m not quite there yet!

  4. Gail Ann Thompson says:

    OutStanding!!

  5. mississippi_bellalis says:

    Both looks are great but i lean for unbelted

  6. Theo says:

    I think you could go either way but if you where to wear a belt, go colorfully with the belt. Have it match the green or put on a white or red one. It could really add volumes to the outfit with just that kind of touch.

  7. Sassy T says:

    I love it. You look absolutely fantastic. I prefer without the belt, your waist looks so defined and I like that there is no break in the beautiful flow of the green buttons. This is my fave outfit of yours by far.

  8. Sandra says:

    You look fantastic! I love your outfit in both pictures.

  9. I love it… The colors are beautiful and look fantastic on you. I like it both ways..
    But I think without the belt is the best… Happy sewing.

  10. I love the outfit. You did a fantastic job on the blouse which I like unbelted best.

  11. Meg says:

    It’s a gorgeous outfit. I love the cut of the blouse. I think I prefer it unbelted.

  12. Cynthia says:

    Love, love, love the whole outfit! I vote for the no belt look! You look amazing in that bright green!

  13. Isis says:

    Very snazzy!

    I like both, but the belted one best!”

  14. thimbledore says:

    So super cute! I prefer the unbelted, but they’re both amazing.

  15. Morgan says:

    Good job! I really like the unbelted look.

  16. Kim says:

    Hi, I like the unbeleted look! More stream lined……………I love the look you have acheived

  17. loveru says:

    Love it!

  18. Suzanne Schneider says:

    YOU LOOK FAB! This is a design you’ll repeat many time I am certain. Longer sleeves & hem with a bit of grading and you’ve got a car coat (fingertip length). Would look amazing with you 50’s style. The colours are great choices, too. Belt or no…hmmm. Either is great BUT sew a matching black belt so the colour blends better. I agree about the green belt suggestion…it would be great too. Do you have crocheted belt loops on the sides or does it just stay there when you sit and move?

  19. Tiffany H says:

    I totally love the whole outfit, but I definitely need to know more about those shoes!

Leave a Reply

