Butterick 5209

Today’s dress is from Butterick 5209, which is a current release 1947 reprint.  I was really hoping that this would be THE dress that would be a TNT that I could make a dozen of.  Yes, it’s cute but surprisingly difficult and fiddly to sew.  I don’t think I would have been able to assemble it had I not had a dress form.  To make view B, with sleeves, you make up view A then attach the back and sleeves on top of it.  I was really confused.  I spent a lot of time just starring at the pieces.  I could see making view A, but since I sunburn easily, I don’t think I’d wear a halter dress very often.  I’ll hang on to the pattern, just in case I change my mind.

You can’t see it in these photos, but there are tiny navy blue dots all over.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Butterick 5209

  1. prttynpnk says:

    Did you end up shortening your bodice? I have to take off about 1.5 inches or it would just ride my hips and wrinkle up. The pink is lovely on!

  2. Black Dahlia says:

    Just gorgeous kamikat! And, I have the same Dansko sandals. ;0 And your hair looks amazing.
    X
    BD

  3. angie.a says:

    Such a pretty dress though! I was checking that pattern out…I think I’ll pass. i’ve about had it with fiddly patterns! I’m on the hunt for a similar “make a dozen dresses” dress. Sigh.

  4. Too bad it’s difficult to make, because it looks great on you!

  5. Dyan says:

    This is one of my favourite patterns AND I have made loads of dresses from it. I think you look way cute in it. I too shorten the bodice, it fits so much better. Love reading your blog xx

  6. Sassy T says:

    Ooo love the pink

Leave a Reply

