Simplicity 1172

I’m not so sure about today’s project.  It’s Simplicity 1172, from 1944.  I fell in love with this pattern when I saw Mena’s version at http://www.sewweekly.com.  It’s a very easy to sew pattern but was quite difficult to grade and fit.  I think this just might be one of those dresses that is more flattering to a slimmer figure.  I don’t hate it, but I don’t think I’ll sew it again.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Simplicity 1172

  1. prttynpnk says:

    I like it. The shape is very pretty and I like the neckline.

  2. Stephanie says:

    I like it too. It gives you a nice defined waist and it’s a very flattering length on you. And kudos on the grading and fitting! 🙂

  3. sdBev says:

    I think the top portion is perfect. The skirt portion could benefit from a little less volume. It’s a really pretty shape on you. Please don’t give up on it.

  4. Meg says:

    Hi, you don’t know me but I love reading your blog and seeing the fabulous clothes you make. I think this looks fab on you – it really suits you.

  5. loveru says:

    Thats bull about it being a pattern for a slimmer figure, it looks fab.rock that peplum

  6. Sassy T says:

    I actually like this on you. Love the fabric.

  7. Kris says:

    So it’s a dress with a peplum belt? That is SUCH a cool idea! I thought it was a blouse (with peplum) and a skirt, and was going to suggest the blouse with a pencil skirt. It’s a look I particularly love.

    I do quite like it on you this way, as well. 🙂

  8. Virginia says:

    My first thought before reading your text was how flattering I thought this style is on you. Love, love the peplum!!

  9. DAwn says:

    Very flattering!

  10. andreahg says:

    Thanks, everyone. After wearing it a couple times, I feel much better about it and now love it.

  11. Christina says:

    I’d really like to buy this pattern. Where did you find it!?

  12. Suzanne Schneider says:

    Lovely choice! Have you thought about upping the ante by adding touches of red? Red buttons down the bodice front, Perhaps red bias trim around the cuff edges or even bold & big red plastic jewelry (necklace/bracelets/earrings) for that 40’s look?

Leave a Reply

