Smooth Sailing

Today’s FO is the Smooth Sailing blouse from http://www.wearinghistorypatterns.com.  Lauren, the proprietress of Wearing History, says this pattern is vintage inspired, rather than a reproduction.  In my opinion, she got it spot on.  This pattern is the best of both world, the fabulous fit and design of a vintage pattern, with the ease of modern markings, instructions and multiple sizing.  The only changes needed were to grade up 2 sizes and add 1.5in full bicep adjustment.  There is enough ease through the bust, that my normal FBA was not needed.  I also did not need to do a petite adjustment above the waist.  I normally don’t need one with vintage patterns, but do with modern patterns.   To me, this is a pattern that fit perfectly with very little (in my experience) alterations needed.  The shoulders fit great.  The armscye is high enough to provide a full range of motion but doesn’t cut into the armpit.  The buttons don’t gap or pull.  The only change I might make to future blouses would be to lower the top end of the front tucks about half an inch.  Other than that, this is a perfect blouse!

This next item is my first project from A Stitch in Time, Vol 2.  It was very simple and quick to knit but I wanted something to show off the colors in this beautiful silk yarn.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Smooth Sailing

  1. Stephanie says:

    Love your version of this top! And I’m knitting the exact same beret! 🙂

  2. Tasha says:

    Must be going around– I just finished knitting that beret!

    The blouse looks fantastic! I like the print of the fabric. I have that pattern too and am hoping to get to it sometime this Spring.

  3. Sassy T says:

    Wow I love the blouse and the beret. You look divine

  4. judy says:

    I love your blouse.. Looks great on you, and really pretty fabric.. The matching beret looks
    super cute.. Happy sewing.

Leave a Reply

