McCall’s 6139

Finally, a FO post.  I hadn’t expected to wear this dress until Spring, but it’s warm enough to wear a short-sleeved, cotton dress with no stockings.  This weather is killing me!  I also finished a flannel Macaron, but it hasn’t been cold enough to wear it.  On to the deets!

McCall’s 6139 is from 1961 and is a good example of the differences between 1950’s fashions and early 1960s fashion.  It has the slightly raised waist and short skirt that signal the 60’s, but the cut-on sleeve that was in style in the 50’s.  I love these transitional styles!

This dress is made in a cotton twill from my stash.  I’m not sure the high neckline works in in this dress but I like everything else about this dress.

Close-up of the monogram

Close-up of machine embroidered hem

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to McCall’s 6139

  1. jrblackwell says:

    So cute!

  2. Rita says:

    Love the color combination and the embroidery. I might have to fight you for the belt though. It really takes the dress up a notch.

  3. Sandra says:

    Beautiful. Your sewing and dress style are such an inspiration to me Andrea.

  4. judy says:

    I love this dress. And the monogram and stitching on the hem…just make it.. Love that you added the green color..wonderful.Looks great on you.
    I so agree..we are having weird weather here in Ms. too.. It was 60 degrees On Monday.And today it is snowing???????/// who knows.ha

  5. Isis says:

    It’s very cute and I really like the colours!

  6. rachel sew-n-sew says:

    Gorgeous! The lime green really sings out. I have machine embroidery envy.

  7. Karabooiloveyou says:

    Love the dress with the embroidery accents, very flattering. But what I really love it’s the hair and makeup, very pretty!

  8. Chelsea says:

    Everything about this dress is awesomesauce!

Leave a Reply

