A Catch Up Post

I can’t believe my last post was on December 1st.  I’ve been a bad blogger.  I have been sewing, but I’m just not very happy with how my projects are turning out.  This is not uncommon for winter sewing for me.

First up is Vogue 1275, which is from Sandra Betzina’s “Today’s Fit” line for Vogue.  As with my first Today’s Fit top, the fit was spot on.  However, I’m not quite sure about the construction.  The neckline and front band was quite fiddly.  I haven’t decided if it’s enough to put me off sewing it again.

Next is my most recently completed project, another Simplicity 2601.  I was really happy with my first one but this one, not so much.  My biggest issue with it is that the plaid was not straight.  When I look at the picture, all I can see is the wonky plaid.  I may have to give up on plaid flannel shirting as this has happened to me 3 times in the last 2 years.  The blouse is ok, but I think the design works better in the crisp men’s shirting that I used last time.

Next, we have works in progress.

First, a muslin for McCall’s 6139

And on the knitting needles:

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Catch Up Post

  1. Lauren says:

    I really love your plaid blouse! So cute!
    I hope your future projects behave themselves.

  2. prttynpnk says:

    Don’t give up on that plaid its very cute! I want to see that sweater!

  3. Sassy T says:

    Love love love the plaid shirt.

  4. judy says:

    I really like the first top.. Looks great on you..

  5. Suzanne Schneider says:

    Re the wonkiness of the plaid…this is often a bit more work but will ensure succes: When you lay out your pattern on the fabric only cut one layer at a time. Using tissue or wax paper you’ll be able to see where the lines cross. Using wax pencil or other non-smudge tool, mark a few of the crossing lines of your plaid that you’ll see through the paper. Once the first layer is cut, remove the fabric, flip over the pattern piece and lay in on the fabric matching up the lines.( You do this pattern piece upside down or you’ll have 2 lefts.) That should help. Hope that makes sense.

Leave a Reply

