Star Cardigan

I finally have a knitted FO to share.  This cardigan was my first try at fair isle.  While the pattern is simple, the technique was really hard.  I’ve done an intarsia project and found that to be better suited to my knitting style.  I am a tight knitter and really had to concentrate to keep the back loose.  Plus, there is a change of tension from the solid color to the colorwork.  I love the look of fair isle, so I’ll probably give it another go.  I’m pretty happy with the fit of the body, but not the sleeves.  This is the second vintage pattern that I’ve rewritten where the sleeves didn’t come out like I wanted.  The sleeve fits fine, perfectly into the armhole, but there are no gathers or puff.  I guess my math was fine, since it fit in the armhole.  Before I attempted another vintage pattern, I need to figure out what went wrong.  The other glaring issue is  buttonholes, or more accurately, the lack of buttonholes.  I wanted to knit the two fronts together, so I read the instructions for the left side, then cast on double.  Um, yeah, no buttonholes.  Oh well, I don’t normally button my cardigans, so it’s not a big deal.

The pattern can be found at http://www.vintagepurls.co.nz/womenspatterns.html

close up of the fair isle

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Star Cardigan

  1. Ada says:

    Wonderful job. It looks great and from the photo the sleeves look like they fit really well. I am a new knitter so still on dish clothes. Slow going as I keep droping stitches.

  2. judy says:

    THis sweater is so cute.. I dont know how to knit..but love to learn.. Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

