Simplicity 2256

Pattern Description:
Women’s jackets with collar and sleeve variations
Pattern Sizing:6-24

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I love the ruffled collar. I dislike how fabric requirement charts used on Project Runway patterns are for the individual garment elements. I ended up with enough fabric leftover for a skirt. I am a little surprised that this pattern doesn’t include a lining, but was too lazy to create one. The only design element that I’m not thrilled with is that the pockets are quite small. My keys keep falling out. However, with the empire-waist seam and the front and side front panels, there is no way to make them bigger.

Fabric Used:corduroy from fabric.com

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I used the long, straight sleeve with the ruffled collar. As for alterations: FBA, narrow shoulder, full bicep and above the waist petite adjustment. There are no lines to indicated petite fold placements.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?I would recommend it to others, but it’s a unique jacket. I’m not sure I need another one in my wardrobe.

Conclusion: I am not normally a ruffle gal, but the collar is really growing on me. I’ve put off sewing a fall jacket for so long because I didn’t want to deal with all the fussy details. This jacket showed me that jackets aren’t too much work and having a well-fitting jacket is worth it. I’m now ready to take on a more challenging jacket.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Simplicity 2256

  1. Steffie says:

    You’ve been churning out SUPER adorable things lately! This jacket and your Simplicity 2601 in particular are excellent. 🙂 I need a rad sewing work ethic like yours.

  2. judy says:

    Love your new jacket.super cute.. Like the color too.

  3. Ada says:

    knee high boots, denim skirt and a great jacket. Wow. Love the color of the jacket. I also have put off making a jacket because of the details. I did buy a number of jacket patterns last time there was a 99 cent sale. Might be time to take the plunge.

  4. Alexa says:

    I came across your site by chance. I’m just starting to get into vintage. I’ve adored it from afar but have recently decided to incorporate it into my wardrobe. I absolutely love your site. Everything you make is completely adorable! I will definitely make your site and regular reoccurance on my rounds. Much love!

  5. Janlynn says:

    I love the jacket including the ruffle. Your outfit is so well styled.

Leave a Reply

