Vogue 1197

This is the year that I accept that I am cold-blooded and need warm clothes more than cute clothes.  My goal for the coming months is compromise.  Try to make clothes that will be warm first and cute second.  In past winters, I’ve made a bunch of cute clothes that weren’t all that warm and have hung in my closet, unworn.  Vogue 1197 is a good start.  The fabric is an ITY jersey from http://www.fashionfabricsclub.com/ and one was of a pile of ITYs that I bought last week.  I have a love/hate relationship with ITY jersey.  My local fabric stores only stock juvenile prints in jersey, so I have to buy all my jersey online.  ITY jersey is the most commonly found printed jersey but can be inconsistent.  Some feels like cotton jersey, some feels like exercise wear.  I got lucky with this fabric.  It’s warm and soft, with a good stretch and recovery.  While the print is a touch too tie-dye to be a favorite, it is purple, which I love.

Vogue 1197 is my first “Today’s Fit”, designed by Sandra Betzina.  I have several of her books, but her designs are not usually to my liking.  This one is the first Sandra Betzina pattern that works with my style.  I love the cowl neck and the sleeve ruching.  Not only does it add interest to the sleeve, it adds warmth.  This is the first raglan tee pattern that has fit my narrow shoulders well.  The only downside of this design is that there is no waist shaping.  It is cut straight through the waist and only 1in flare at the hip.  I knew this would not be flattering for me, so I lined up my TnT New Look tee and drew a fitted waist on this pattern.  I love this top and can’t wait to make more.

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Vogue 1197

  1. Justine says:

    Hi. I have Today’s Fit too and I use it for the FBA. Nice job! I am starting a sewing linky party today called Sew & Tell Saturday at my website and I am hoping to get some vintage sewists aboard to post their projects because there aren’t any sewing linky parties to show off vintage creations. I hope you can come over and post a link to your blog today! Thanks so much!
    Justine @ Sew Country Chick

  2. Sassy T says:

    Lovely. With all the clothes you make you must have a walk in wardrobe lol

    • andreahg says:

      I wish! I have very little closet space, so I tend to get rid of a lot of things. At the end of each season, I evaluate my wardrobe and get rid of anything that hasn’t been worn more than once.

  3. Ada says:

    Great looking top. I will have to try it out. Love the fabric.

  4. kirsty says:

    Love the top – ADORE the fabric ! Its really cool when you know what will suit and what wont and are able to adjust the pattern accordingly ! Great job lady xx

  5. Awesome! This is under consideration for the top of my sweater dress – I’m happy to see it made up! I would have expected more of a cowl from the photos! Do you think that it would be easy to size up that, or is it a good substantial one?

    I am SO intrigued by those funky sleeves!

    • andreahg says:

      I used the cowl from the short sleeved version. The other version is more substantial. The sleeves are so awesome that I want to add them to every knit pattern I sew. However, they are fabric hogs.

  6. Isis says:

    It looks very nice! And being warm is important, though it is much nicer t be warm AND smart, than just warm.

  7. judy says:

    Love it. the color and style looks great on you. Happy sewing.

Leave a Reply

