McCall’s 6472

Pattern Description: Pullover tops and gown (fitted through bust) have bust darts, gathered front/back, snap closing and short sleeves or long sleeves with elasticized hem.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I was looking for an unusual pajama pattern. It’s feminine without being overly girly, even though I chose very feminine prints. Nothing to dislike in the design, although the bias binding is tedious.

Fabric Used:cotton flannel from my local JoAnn’s.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I did my typical alterations to the pants, scooped the back crotch, raised the center back. But they’re so baggy, it probably wasn’t necessary. To the top, all I did was a narrow shoulder adjustment.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I will sew it again and yes, I’d recommend it to others.

Conclusion: I’ve had sizing issues with pajamas before, both for myself and my husband. I used my normal pattern size for these pajamas and I’m swimming in the pants. While the top has the right amount of ease at the bust, I think I could probably cut a smaller size for the neckline/shoulder area. When in doubt, go down a pant size for this pattern and look at the measurements for the top. This picture was taken after the first night’s test drive and they are very comfy to sleep in and quite warm. I will be making more, as well as some summer versions in the future.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

