Simplicity 2601

Pattern Description: Misses blouse has shaped midriff, peplum, front button opening with underlap, choice of flounce or shawl collar, and choice of cap sleeve, full sleeve, or gathered sleeve with tie.

Pattern Sizing:6-22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Other than the style changes, yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn’t really follow them
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I am in love with peplums right now so this was the perfect style. I don’t care for button loops for my larger figure. I always feel like they come undone easier.

Fabric Used: men’s shirting from fashionfabricsclub.com

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I did a narrow shoulder adjustment and a 1in FBA. I decided to add an overlap and do standard buttonholes. I wanted a longer sleeve for winter, so I used a TnT sleeve.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes and Yes!!

Conclusion: There are a few tweaks I need to do, take in the shoulders a bit more, adjust the overlap, but other than that, I love this blouse. It looks good with jeans and pencil skirts, could be made in either flannel or linen, adds a touch of style to a basic outfit. I think this will be a very versatile pattern in my arsenal.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Simplicity 2601

  1. Looks adorable! I’ve two version of 2601 and will likely do more. I don’t like how the underlap is ‘shart’ and shows off my belly button, but I don’t really want to extend down into the peplum area and I like the midriff piece ending above my belly button. I’m stymied.

    The loops bug me too, but I don’t actually unbutton the shirt to take it off and on – I just slip over my head! I keep meaning to tighten up the loops by handstitching so they are purely decorative.

    I like your sleeve length!

  2. PepperReed says:

    Great blouse!! That looks wonderful on you.

  3. Magpie Mimi says:

    Nice collar on this blouse, looks fantastic on you!

  4. I really like that! Great job. 🙂

  5. Lauren says:

    You and I have entirely different body shapes, but very similar tastes it seems: this must be the third pattern I’ve seen made by you and put straight onto a list of “things to buy in the next pattern sale”! It looks great!

  6. sdBev says:

    Andrea this is a great look for you! That blouse is definitely a keeper.

  7. Sassy T says:

    Really nice, that would look great in a gingham to give it that vintage look.

Leave a Reply

