September Sewing

The mister hooked up an external monitor, so I’m back in business.  Here’s the good, the bad and the ugly from my September sewing.  Let’s start with the bad:

Butterick 5525 is a really cute top, but shows my bras straps.  I haven’t decided if I’m going to keep working on this pattern to get it right.  There are so many other knit patterns out there to try, it would be easy to just move on.

Butterick 5690 is one of the dreaded Connie Crawford for Butterick patterns.  While it is a nicely drafted pattern, I have to admit that swing coats aren’t very flattering to me.  I need a more fitted shape.  I didn’t even finish this one.

Here is the winner of my September sewing.  Simplicity 1941 is part of their Amazing Fit line.  It is a basic, princess seamed blouse, but what sets it apart is that it comes with separate pattern pieces for A-DD bra cup sizes.  All that I needed to do was a petite adjustment above the waist.  It fit perfectly the first time.  That explains the lack of concern for pattern matching.  It was $1.50 a yard fabric that I intended to use as a muslin but fit so nicely that I finished it off to be wearable.  I will be making a bunch more.  This is the first button front blouse, handmade or RTW, that has ever fit me without pulling the buttons at the bust.  I am so in love with this blouse that I stopped to look in the mirror every time I passed one yesterday.  Love, love, love!

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to September Sewing

  1. PepperReed says:

    That first top with the wide neck looks really great on you! Any chance of moving the side neck over a smidge on both sides to cover the straps (or putting strap holders in)? The Swing Coat isn’t bad, it actually looks like it could work if it was ~3″ longer, but that may be because you’re holding your arms up. Love the ‘plaid’, that 3rd one is a winner!!

  2. Magpie Mimi says:

    That blouse looks fantastic! Hurray for patterns that fit women with a bust! Will have to track it down and give it a go. No wonder you were looking in the mirror, it deserves to be appreciated.

  3. judy says:

    I love ,love the last one ..It is fantastic and looks great on you. Wow…that is a beautiful shirt , would never have guessed its was $ 1.50 yd.. Great buy..
    I also like the first top too. The plaid is really pretty.. and I thought the swing coat looked good on you.. Happy sewing.

  4. Marybeth says:

    That blouse looks amazing on you!

  5. rachel sew-n-sew says:

    Lovely to have you back – I’ve missed your posts!

  6. Ada says:

    Multi cup sizing is a win win. It is all I have been using lately. You blouse looks great.

  7. Sassy T says:

    Love, love, love the blouse. I would be making a ton too if I was you, the fit is fabulous.

Leave a Reply

