SSS Days 14 and 15

Day 14 is the winner of this summer’s sewing.  I haven’t worn it very much since making it because it feels so dressy, but I always feel great when I wear it.

Blouse: Hollywood 1351, skirt: McCall 9005

Day 15 is a mixed bag.  I love the blouse, but almost feel ridiculous in the big bow.  I’m currently working on a solid white version, without interfacing in the bow.  I’m also not sure how I feel about the cardi.  It started life as a bolero, before I lengthened the pattern.  I was concerned about hiding my “problem areas” that a bolero wouldn’t hide, but I think the longer length is kinda blah.  However, it feels a need of covering my arms in the sleeveless blouse, but not as heavy as a long sleeve cardi.  A few degrees cooler, and I would need long sleeves.

The blouse is a new retro reprint Simplicity 2154.  Cardi is an early 1930’s Butterick 4046.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Self-Stitched-September. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SSS Days 14 and 15

  1. sdBev says:

    Wow this IS a great outfit! You may be uncomfortable with the size of the bow, but from here is it perfect.

  2. judy says:

    I love both of the outfits..But the blouse with the bow is so cute.. and I love that you lengenth the bolero..tooo cute. Looks great on you..
    You really encourage me , with the great patterns you choose..

Leave a Reply

