Butterick 6239

This is an older reprint that I stumbled upon in eBay a while ago.  I had put off making it because the center front pleats allow for no above-waist adjustments.  Being high waisted, I didn’t think this dress was even an option for me.  However, it’s got 2 great things going for it: it takes 3 yards of fabric and it has an almost half-circle skirt.  The only alterations I did was a small petite fold between the armscye and the shoulder and a narrow shoulder alteration.  I’m mostly happy with it, but I would like to figure out how to lower the center front darts and raise the waistline a bit, but that’s going to be a TON of work.  For now, it’s a workable daydress.  I love the high collar at the back and can’t wait to make it in warmer fabrics for the winter.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Butterick 6239

  1. Becky says:

    I really like it!

  2. Magpie Mimi says:

    That’s such a lovely shape dress, even if you do want to do more work to it next time. Really like the fabric choice too.

  3. sdBev says:

    Such an interesting dress and you did a very nice job with it.

  4. Kelly Byrne says:

    I am so jealous, love it!

  5. caroline wright says:

    I sewed this pattern up when it first came out–or re-came out?–several years ago. It was a wadder for me–maybe it was the fabric, a quilting weight cotton or the fact that it is hard to adjust, but it turned out like a sack on me. You make me want to give it another go.

  6. Miranda says:

    Hi,
    I hardly ever come across another person who needs to shorten the area between the armscye and the shoulder–when you do that, do you lower the bottom of the armscye to make up for that? I haven’t been able to figure that out in my head–it seems that the sleeve will not fit if you do not compensate, but it also seems like the armscye will wind up being as deep as it originally was, which is usually too deep for me. I also always need to shorten between bust point and waist as well. I’d appreciate comments about this fitting issue from you or anyone else who has this problem. Thank you!

    • andreahg says:

      No, I do not low the bottom of the armscye. To make the sleeve fit, you need to make a coresponding fold in the sleeve cap.

      • Miranda says:

        My thought process on this is that my arms are not smaller than a regular height person, so If I shorten the armscye, it will be smaller in circumference. Although, the bottom of the armscye on a regular dress (vs. a petite) is usually too low on me, so maybe I should just try it! Thank you for your help!

  7. pup says:

    Hello,
    I have just gotten into sewing (literally just this weekend.. I spent some time at my grandmothers and together we made a dress form and I had her watch over me while I started my first dress!), I stumbled across your page and am glad I did!! I love all the vintage style clothing you have showcased!! I am amazed by your new wardrobe!! You did a great job!!
    Looking forward to reading more of your posts!!

Leave a Reply

