Hollywood 1351

I got Hollywood 1351 from the lovely and talented Lauren, over at http://www.wearinghistorypatterns.com/  I think it’s my new favorite pattern.  I had made a muslin of this top a while back, when I first got it, but it sat around for a while.  I had been convinced that mid-30’s styles were to slim fitted to work for me until I was inspired by Irene Dunne’s character in “Theodora Goes Wild”.  All her skirts were so full and twirly that I just had to give it a go.  I used McCall 9005 for the skirt, since I already know it fits.  I did my usual FBA and also added more flare to the peplum.  I’m very happy with this outfit and can see making several more.

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hollywood 1351

  1. Tasha says:

    Really cute and flattering! Love it.

  2. This looks darling!! I love the fabric you used!

  3. Magpie Mimi says:

    Really lovely top! Especially like the bow belt!

  4. 1912 Suffragette says:

    What a lovely outfit! I’ve been concerned that those 30’s square necklines will make my neck look too wide, but it looks great on you. I’ll have to try it.

  5. Kelly Byrne says:

    I love your outfits and style but I have to ask: is it hard to size the patterns up to your measurements, and do u have any secret ninja tricks for me?

Leave a Reply

