First Fair Isle

I do believe that my Briar Rose sweater has created a monster.  I can barely find room in my brain for sewing because of all the knitting projects fighting for space in there.  The pattern Star Charm Cardigan from http://www.vintagepurls.co.nz/.  Grading up was easy because all it took was a switch from fingering to sport weight yarn.  I have just finished the fair isle for the left front side.  This was my first attempt at fair isle.  My initial impression is that while I like the finished look, I don’t actually enjoy the knitting.  I am a tight knitter and I had to really pay close attention to my tension and make sure it stayed loose enough.  This is the first new knitting skill that I haven’t loved on first try.  I loved both lace and cables at first try.  We’ll see if I feel better about the right side.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Fair Isle

  1. Tasha says:

    Looks great, especially for your first try at stranding! Stranded knitting takes some practice. You may find you enjoy it more on projects in the round, like say a hat, versus patterns where you knit it flat. Those purl rows can be a bit more tough since you can’t see what you’re doing as easily.

    I knit that cardigan too. 🙂

  2. angie.a says:

    It looks lovely. I wish I had the patience to learn to knit!

  3. sewvintage says:

    Ha, I experienced the same effect! Ever since I joined Tashas knitalong I only think of knitting. Your Fair Isle trials looks good, I wish I had the confidence to start something like that.

Leave a Reply

