Simplicity 1638

I know I said I was going to be doing Me-Made-June, but it just didn’t happen.  I’ve gotten to the point in my sewing where the Me-Made isn’t the issue.  Most of my nicer clothes are Me-Made.  The issue is taking and posting the pictures.

I also haven’t been sewing much.  Even today’s project isn’t really a new one.  We’re getting down to the end of the school year, so I’ve been spending more time just puttering around the house and reading, trying to enjoy my last moments of quiet before the house is filled with the constant noise of pre-teen boys.  I’m sure it will pick up soon.  I just cut out another Colette Macaroon and ordered my copy of Colette Crepe and fabric to make it.

Today’s FO is Simplicity 1638.  Last month, I posted pictures of the whole outfit, asking for opinions on how to fix it.  I lowered the neckline a bit, raised the hem and removed the skirt so the bodice is worn as a blouse.  I think it does look better with the dark green skirt, but I’m still not happy with it.  It just doesn’t fit right even though I made a muslin.  The shoulders are too wide, the armholes too deep and there’s just something uncomfortable about having the peplum waistband hit my waist at the same spot as the waistband of my skirt.  I don’t think I’m going to keep this one.

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Simplicity 1638

  1. Magpie Mimi says:

    That sucks that you still don’t like it after doing all that work. Hope the Macaroon turns out as fabulous as the last one! Need to get me a copy of that pattern and try it out myself.

  2. sdBev says:

    Andrea
    It does happen that you like a style, but not to wear it. This maybe one of those times….

  3. HI Andrea,
    I am so sorry you still dont like the outfit.. It looks great in the picture..but I understand, Sometimes on..it just dont work…
    After seeing yours.I hunted and hunted the pattern..and finally found one really similar. Same thing is happening to me.. just doesnt fit right.. I am still trying to adjust it now..ooooooooooh frustrating..ha. But .it did help that I saw yours first, I was going to do the top and skirt the same..but decided to make a solid skirt and floral top.. This was good..but the fit..just doesnt suit me.. I am taking the peplum off ” AGAIN.”, and see if I take some of the gathers out..will that help?? If this doesnt work………… I am DONE with it.lol
    I so agree with the me made months…. the sewing is not the problem..its the picture taking and posting.. Just cant keep that done.. Some days…pictures just arent going to happen.ha
    Have a great day.and Happy sewing. Judy

Leave a Reply

