Jalie 2921

For those who aren’t familar with Jalie (http://www.jalie.com/), it is a Canadian pattern company that got it’s start making figure skating costume patterns.  Knitwear, both casual and active, is their specialty.  I have tried 2 other patterns by them, with mixed results.  I’m still not certain about this one.

My goal is to find knit patterns that can pass for vintage.  I live in knit tops in the winter and I really enjoy sewing them.  I think this top, in solid colors, would go nicely with an early 1930’s skirt.  I’ve seen several V-necked, bow collared blouse patterns.  This one might even look nice in a sweater knit or double knit.

The problem with this top isn’t the look but the fit.  It is the same with all the Jalie tops I’ve tried.  To start off, they are drafted with several inches of negative ease.  That would be ok in excercise clothing or a swimsuit but not a top and certainly not on the higher end of the sizes.  Second, it’s almost completely straight up and down, no going in at the waist, no flaring out for some hips.  I started out using a size larger than the chart called for and flaring out to the largest size at the hips.  It’s still a tad snug at the hip and very baggy at the waist.  However, the fabric was on sale at http://fabric.com/ , so I’m not too upset that it’s not perfect.  I got another rayon jersey at the same time, so I’ll give it another go.  Oh, and one last thing: the pattern calls for 1 yard of fabric.  That would only work if you weren’t planning on using the scarf.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jalie 2921

  1. molly says:

    This top is very slimming on you! I love the fabric too

  2. Christiana says:

    This top looks great on you. Cute print, and very flattering colours

    Christiana
    sewamusing.blogspot.com

  3. Love the blouse..looks great on you.. and the fabric is beautiful.Great Job.

  4. I think it looks great – although, you know I’m a lover of super tight knits!

  5. Ada says:

    The top looks really good and none of the big circles are over your bust. Did you plan that? Is the rayon jersey hugging all the curves or just skimming? The reason I noticed the circles is I had a large cabbage rose right over my bust in the last top I made. Needless to say it is now in the garbage.

  6. Claire says:

    Glad I read this morning, I have just got this pattern to make a top out of a wonderful wool jersey and was debating if to do a trial run with a cheap cotton or not. I think I won’t risk the good fabric.
    Lovely top still.

  7. Sassy T says:

    I absolutely love the top and fit on you. Really groovy and my type of print.

  8. StoneMaven says:

    That top and pant combo looks fabulous on you. I have a similar body type and would LOVE to look that good in vintage inspired clothing. Unfortunately I wind up looking more like Aunt Bea than Myrna Loy.

Leave a Reply

