VPLL 7451

For those who don’t know VPLL, it is the Vintage Pattern Lending Library.  They have a membership program for discounted prices, but I’m not a member.  I have tried two other patterns fom VPLL, with no success.  This one, however, is a winner.  I’m always happy to find older patterns in plus sizes and 7451 is quite stylish.  The original is a size 42, so I added 2 inches to the side seams.  I also added a 1in FBA.  I’ve recently come understand a major fitting issue is a high hip and raised the hip 0.5in.  I could have come higher.  The only design change I made was to omit the ruffles.  I’m just not a ruffle gal.  This is, so far, my favorite early 30’s dress that I’ve made and I think I’ll make it again, in a feedsack print.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to VPLL 7451

  1. Lauren says:

    Darling! I think this might be one of my favorite dresses you’ve ever made!

  2. Cee says:

    Now that is an awesome dress!!

  3. theophania says:

    This is sooo cute, how wonderful! Close ups!

  4. sdBev says:

    This is really attractive!

  5. Rita says:

    OMG, that dress is fabulous!!!! Great job! Also, I love your shoes!

  6. Sarah says:

    Wah!! I LOVE it!! What a fantastic style on you and the fabric is sensational! Job well done 🙂

  7. Sandra says:

    That is fantastic. You are an inspiration to me.

  8. Debbie says:

    I love the color combination and style. The 30’s are starting to become my new favorite era. Well done!

  9. andreahg says:

    Thanks, everyone!

    • OH. I love this dress.You did a great job..You are such a great encouragement to me.. thankyou for sharing, I appreciate it. I loved the
      lane bryant pictures..So, nice to see vintage dresses that are not made to fit barbie dolls.ha

  10. Sølvi says:

    This looks gorgeous! Love the neckline!

  11. Ada says:

    Everything about this dress if perfect for you.

  12. Isis says:

    It’s very pretty!

  13. PepperReed says:

    So, so Cute!! That dress is darling on you, Good Job!

Leave a Reply

