Thoughts on Me-Made-March

I think the biggest suprise of this Me-Made challenge was that I now have enough of a daily wardrobe to get by.  My previous Me-Made challenges showed me that I needed to focus on separates for a daily wardrobe.  Prior to this, I’d make dresses based on liking a fabric or pattern with no regard to how often I’d wear it or even if I’d wear it at all.  (You didn’t see the oh-so-twee butterfly dress at all this month, did you?)  I did, however, discover one glaring hole.  I don’t have a single party dress.  A few weeks ago, we went to a friend’s birthday party.  I ended up going in a blouse and jeans,  Yes, it was a casual party and I would have been out of place in a cocktail dress, but it showed me that I do need something a step up from my only dress, which I would call a daydress.

The other thing I learned is that I feel that my handmade clothes are more precious than RTW.  Even though I do have some handmade tee shirts, I will not wear them for cleaning the house or working in the yard.  Does anyone else feel that way?

Another lesson learned: During Me-Made months, I spend more time on the computer and less time sewing.  I love seeing all the other participants’ outfits on the Flickr group, which leads to new blogs to explore and following, leading me into searches for new-to-me patterns.  Each Me-Made month, I’ve had plan to sew alot, but ended up sewing next to nothing.  This month, all I finished was a single blouse and the 40’s denim trousers.

And finally, I just wanted to say congratulations to all the Me-Made-March participants.  You all did a wonderful job and are so inspirational and supportive.  Each month, there have been more and more participants.  While I think this is a good thing and we’re spreading the love of wearing our handmade garments, it means that sometimes I feel like there are too many to comment on every single outfit post that I wanted to.  There is already talk of another challenge, probably in the summer.  I’ll probably be on board for that one, too.  Hope to see you there!

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Me Made March 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts on Me-Made-March

  1. Sølvi says:

    Congratulations to you too! you looked fantastic in your me-mades all month. And I am am with you on the sewing/Flickr ratio in Me-Made months. I make less myself, and watch much more what others are doing. It is a great way of getting new inspiration!:-)

Leave a Reply

