Briar Rose Knit-a-long swatch

The Briar Rose knit-a-long sponsered by http://blog.bygumbygolly.com/ starts on Tuesday!  My yarn, http://www.knitpicks.com ‘s Comfy in fingering weight, arrived yesterday and I did my first swatch.  I’ve been told I knit with a death grip on my needles so I wasn’t surprised that my first swatch wasn’t to gauge.  This is on size #3 needles, which is the recommended size for the pattern.  I will try again with size 4 but it might have to wait.  I don’t think I own any size 4 needles.

 

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in knit-a-long. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Briar Rose Knit-a-long swatch

  1. I knit super tight too! I read somewhere that for ‘tight knitters’ cast off with needles a size or two bigger than your project needles to keep that last row the right size – it works EXCELLENT with socks -I always made the calves too tight!

    You’re super off gauge! – did you block before checking? That stretches it out a bit – but maybe you could do a half swatch with 5’s?

Leave a Reply

