F.O. and muslins

I finished my black cotton twill version of Simplicity 3356 and am very happy with it.  The only downside is that the twill is thinner than my denim version so it won’t be as versatile as I had hoped.  I’ll still need a heavier one for next winter.  Actually, I’m not sure I’ll be able to wear it again until April.  It was 75F on Friday but we’re expecting snow on Tuesday.  Ahh, gotta love D.C. weather!

Now, on to muslins.  I’ve been inspired by the lovely and talented Patty over at http://www.pattythesnugbug.com/ and have decided to give trouser fitting another go.  My pattern is Simplicity 4949.

Here are the trousers straight out of the envelope

I like how the leg looks, but the crotch seam is very low.  I then pulled them up so the crotch was at a comfortable level, but it changed how the leg fit.

I’m not sure where to go from here.  I guess I’ll try trimming the side seam.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to F.O. and muslins

  1. Colleen Writt says:

    At this point, go back to the pattern, shorten the rise between waist and hip the amount you pulled up here, and lengthen the leg at above the knee the same amount.
    Then cut a new muslin.

  2. Marybeth says:

    Pants seem like such a challenge! I’m way too intimidated… I love your new black dress – very cute! We had warm weather on Friday here, too (in Philadelphia)… But it IS still February :))) We’ll be wearing our spring dresses soon, I hope!

  3. Pia says:

    The dress is again so lovely, and I’m again amazed at how you manage to always get the fit so perfect. Yes, I’ll admit, I envy you…:) Pants. Sigh. I’ve noticed that the crotch seam is always very low in vintage patterns, and it just feels veeery strange to me too. Maybe indeed you could try taking in the side seams, let us know how its progressing. 🙂 Always nice to see your posts. 🙂

  4. Karen in VA says:

    Yes, just love DC weather…..I am also intimidated by pants..although also inspired by Patty..just not enough to go through that particular fitting challenge just yet..Really like your pants pattern, but have no ideas for you…..

  5. Psycho Sue says:

    oh cant wait to see the pants! i am in love with the jumper. totally. i think i would marry it!

  6. have your seen the posts on trouser fitting over at the cupcake goddess’s blog? i didn’t do the sewalong but there was a lot of info on fitting the rise and how it effects the rest of the trousers.

  7. Judy Roberson says:

    Hi Andrea.
    I love.love your memade march 9 shirt..so cute.. You make the cutiest clothes..You so inspire me..I am so proud I found your blog.
    just wanted to tell you.I graded a vintage pattern using your method and oh …..was it wonderful..So much easier than the books.. thankyou s ooooooo much.Now,I am anxious to make the dress..
    Happy sewing.. Judy
    bty…what is me made march?? what kind of challenge?

Leave a Reply

