Indecision!

One of the final pieces of my wardrobe is to be a black jumper/pinafore.  After making a denim version of Simplicity 3356, I wore it several times each week over the summer.  I fell in love with the versatility of seperates while having the fit of a dress.  When thinking about a black jumper, I KNEW it was going to be another Simplicity 3356.  Then came Hollywood 794.  I bought it for the pleated skirt, not the jumper.  The skirt fit perfectly on the first try.  Last night, I decided on a whim to try the jumper bodice.  Now, I can’t decide which jumper to make.  I feel like the Hollywood jumper shows off my figure better, but because the Simplicity is looser and has no waist seam, is much more comfortable and will be cooler in the humid summer.  The other negative to the Hollywood jumper is the full coverage bodice would not show off the blouse as much as the Simplicity jumper.  A positive feature is that I think it has more of a grownup feel than the Simplicity.

So, help me decide! Do you like Hollywood 794 or Simplicity 3356?  (keep in mind that the muslin for Hollywood 794 isn’t quite done, needs a little more ease, a little more length in the bodice)

Hollywood 794

Simplicity in denim

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Indecision!

  1. Cindy says:

    That’s a tough one as the denim is so cute. I really like the Hollywood one a lot. Maybe do Hollywood in a linen?

  2. jrblackwell says:

    I love the Hollywood look – LOVE IT! It’s so flattering and looks like the perfect pattern for some beautiful evening wear. There is totally a dress to be made there.

    But I think if you are looking for a comfortable daydress to run errands and and look adorable while you are getting stuff done, the simplicity look is the way to go, with it’s proven track record of being the dress you reach for several times a week. If you have another of the same dress in a different color, it seems like you are guarantee to get your money’s worth out of it.

  3. gMarie says:

    I’m loving the hollywood pattern. Do you always were a top under it? Just wearing the jumper would eliminate the “layers adding warmth” issue. The simplicity is adorable. Can’t you have both? g

  4. Nancy H says:

    I love the Hollywood 794–but see why the Simplicity might beat it for comfort in the gMarie’s suggestion seems like the best–why not both?

  5. Tasha says:

    Gosh, that’s a hard one. I like them both a lot, but I feel like the Simplicity style feels more versatile, like you’d get more wear with it. And like you mentioned, it shows more of a blouse, especially if it had a collar. Tough call, though!

    When I start getting a little deeper into my sewing, a jumper is a basic that I really use!

  6. andreahg says:

    Thanks for your opinions, everyone! I’m going with the Simplicity pattern for the black twill. I think I’ll make the Hollywood pattern in a heavy, winter fabric so the extra coverage will be an asset.

  7. Psych Sue says:

    i know i am late but i like hollywood better just because the simplicity makes a horizontal line across your upper chest.

  8. Jessica says:

    Soooooo adore the denim version, I would wear that in an absolute heartbeat!

    Awesome (and inspiring) creations, as always, hon!

    Wishing you a blissful Tuesday,
    Jessica

Leave a Reply

