I’m knitting!

All of a sudden, I have lots of knitting stuff going on.  After getting very frustrated at the lack of larger vintage knitting patterns and the math involved in converting knitting patterns, I decided to search out a modern pattern that fits like a vintage one and use it as sort of a block to add vintage touches.  After an extensive Ravelry search, I found the “Dogwood Donna” blouse.  It is available for download at http://www.interweavestore.com/Knitting/Patterns/Dogwood-Donna.html and is for sizes 31″-50″ bust.

Without the flower motif, it is a very basic, fitted, short sleeved blouse.

One of the things I like about this pattern is that it uses worsted weight yarn and is knit on size US9.  I only a week, I have finished the ribbing and started the armhole shapping.

The crazy thing is that as soon as I had settled on this pattern as my basis for adapting to vintage, the lovely and talented Tasha over at http://blog.bygumbygolly.com started a vintage knit-a-long.  She has been posting tutorials on adapting vintage patterns for modern knitters.  I’m beginning to feel as though I might actually be able to knit with a vintage pattern.  The actual knitting will begin March 1, so there’s still time to jump on board.  So far, she has taught us how to estimate yarn yardage for difference sizes.  Next week will be swatching.

Here is the sweater we’ll be knitting.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m knitting!

  1. Viv says:

    You make my head hurt. Actually, you and Mia may inspire me to take on a sweater someday. Need to get new glasses first. And make 3 more scarves. And a baby blanket. By then it will finally be time to make something for me! *fingers crossed*

  2. VividMuse says:

    I forgot to mention, it looks gorgeous!

  3. Karen in VA says:

    Cute sweater….Do you think it’s easy enough for a beginner? I’ve done mostly scarves and blankets…..

    • andreahg says:

      Karen and Viv, yes, I think it’s easy enough for beginners. The ribbing does all the waist shaping and if you omit the colorwork, there’s nothing more complicated than a basic decrease and bind off for both the armhole and neckhole. This seems like it would be a good first sweater.

Leave a Reply

